WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise (Street Photography)

21 December 2012

Lens:

1. Street Photography, iPhone 4s, December 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

1. Outdoor Sculpture by David Meyer, Main Street, Newark, Delaware, iPhone 4s, December 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Street Photography, iPhone 4s, December 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Future Restaurant, Main Street, Newark, Delaware, iPhone 4s, December 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

Last week I took a long, leisurely walk from the tip of my town’s Main Street to its merge into a trio of other possibilities. On that early morning stroll I was witness to the familiar, but also to surprises that are part of the serendipity of street photography. When I saw the theme for WordPress’s Weekly Photo Challenge, I knew some of the images from this photo shoot would be suitable.

I intended to spend a few hours on the street with my iPhone, and thought that the holiday would inspire some fascinating opportunities. While there are festive lights and storefront froth, I was drawn to other surprises. In the Lens section are two of the images that inspired.

Tucked in an alcove of the town’s center is an outdoor sculptor installation by David Meyer, who teaches at the University of Delaware. I’ve passed this globe-like artwork so many times that the sculpture seems to know me. Its open-work allows various views that conjure introspection and wonder. Its positive and negative spaces are only upstaged by the patina of the metal and light that filters through it. But every time that I’ve gazed at its design work, I’ve never noticed myself reflected in its center, which you can see in photograph one. When I was converting into black and white, my image surprised me.

Here is another view of this public art.

Outdoor Sculpture by David Meyer,  © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Outdoor Sculpture by David Meyer, © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

The second photograph made me smile as its content was a pure surprise. This restaurant has been in the throes of construction for months. I had never noticed the quotes, but was in a sense spellbound by their presence. It simple caught me by surprise. I imagine that the owners are extending a hand to passersby in an effort to appease the wondering: so when are you really going to open?

Thanks again WordPress for a fun challenge. Street photography offers some small or medium or large-size moments to capture and instill in my memory, surprises always accompany these photo shoots.

Happy winter solstice–more daylight is on the way.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Art and Creativity, Black-and-White Photography, Human Nature, Inspiration, iPhoneography, Life, Photography, Street Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise (Street Photography)

  1. Stunning and fun surprises. The B and W effect created an even more mystery and excitement. When I have days that I am so hungry this would come handy, “Ask what’s for lunch.” And fast! Have a blessed day.

  2. The abstract sculpture is rendered well by your appropriately abstract black and white view of it.

  3. eof737 says:

    Gorgeous artwork! :-)
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Holidays to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

    • I wish for you the merriment that your symbols brought to me. I enjoy the JOY you spread (no pun intended). Happy winter holidays (especially now that the days are starting to produce more daylight). Many thanks.

  4. They are all great but my personal favorite is the first photograph. It is a really strong image and I would love to see that sculpture.

  5. taethne says:

    I love the first picture. The designs really struck me.

  6. Gracie says:

    Very nice find, Sally! I like the second photo, the quotes on the window were brilliant.

  7. Haha, I love the lunch quotes…now that’s advertising at its best.

Leave a Reply

