WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected

22 November 2013

Lens:

The Biker at the Skateboard Park, Nikon DSLR, November 2013;© Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

The Biker at the Skateboard Park, Newark, Delaware, Nikon DSLR, November 2013;© Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know what you think about my photograph.

Pens:

Those of us who roam aimlessly through our days seeing the world through our photographic lens, we also have specific destinations to explore. One of the places on my agenda is a new skateboard park that is literally around the corner, and situated in a small city park. It fits the pull of street photography that fills my thoughts.

There is a magical quality to it: a curvy design set in concrete that is surrounded by recreation for everyone. It’s an inclusive place for relaxation, wandering and wondering.

The addition of the skateboard park brings bikers, skateboarders and a wide audience of voyeurs. Finally, I made my way to the site on a grey afternoon. What was I thinking? Even so the overcast sky simply became layered against the activity before me.

In the Lens section is one of my favorites from the shoot. This biker was zooming back and forth on the frame made for the adventurers. Two small boys on scooters were engaged in their own fun.

Then the biker left the banks of small hills, and began to show another form of proficiency. He was practicing his skills and talents–his ability to be at one with his two-wheeler.

The performance was spotty, but I was able to catch a moment of success. As an “acknowledged” spy (I asked permission from the biker and the children’s father.) the  look on one of the young boy’s face made the experience even more satisfying: a slice of wonder from a destination that brings the unexpected.

Note: As usual I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Art and Creativity, Black-and-White Photography, Inspiration, Photography, Street Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected

  1. Wonderful photos as always. Why isn’t your blog listed on your gravatar? I had to google you to find it!? ;-)
    Eliz

  2. Trifocal says:

    Very striking image. There are at least 10 parallel horizontal lines running across the centre of the original picture. Tilting these in the way you have creates a ‘deck of the Titanic’ effect, with everything including the boys apparently sliding across the picture. The cyclist’s arm and leg angles add to the effect. All this matches perfectly the feeling of anxiety we get about whether or not he is going to fall in real life. Really nice- thank you.

  3. marialla says:

    Maybe you caught someone in the moment, but it sure looks interesting and good for your quick reaction!!

  4. Skateboarding is a fun, exciting activity which today you captured in it’s true essence. Thrilling event! Happy Thanksgiving !

  5. DD says:

    Some really nice work here, Sally. Nice job!

    I blog at http://www.streetsingapore.com, btw.

  6. I love the tilted angle and how the elements comes so well together in the frame. And then of course it adds to the surprise of the stunt by the biker – and the bystander, forgetting his own actions, following the stunt. Great juxtaposition.

  7. The angle is unexpected. The dynamics between the photographer and the subject is also interesting.

  8. Suzanne says:

    What an interesting photo. I like the way the angle of cyclist corresponds to the black metal shape beside him.

  9. Su Leslie says:

    I just love the photo; it has such energy and I think the angle you’ve shot it gives it a really interesting edge.
    My son is primarily a skateboarding photographer and videographer. I love both his vision, and his tenacity and patience in waiting through try after try to get “the shot.” I’ve filmed for him while he was skating more than photographing, and it was really boring. He’s just released his first full-length skating film and is picking up filming and photographic work as a result. Seems a just reward for all the hours he’s put in to making his film.

  10. Amy says:

    Amazing capture, Sally! I can feel the energy of the biker :)

  11. Gallivanta says:

    I am struck by your words as much as your photograph. You mention that the park is inclusive; I like that. Our skateboard parks do not give me that feeling.

  12. Thats really good Sally, I find it so hard to get a moving image. Love the clarity of the black and white too. :)

  13. Amar Naik says:

    Great picture angle.

  14. Angeline M says:

    Those skate parks are a perfect place for some photography! Great photo angle.

  15. What these kids can do is really amazing! They are one with their wheels! Great catch!!!

  16. Fabulous moment! Fabulous picture!

  17. Amazing how you captured that one fleeting moment of success! After the rider failed a number of attempts, this was certainly unexpected.

  18. Both the angle and the stunt are unexpected. I’ll miss not seeing you next Monday, but have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    janet

  19. Madhu says:

    Love the angle! :-)

  20. Lignum Draco says:

    Nice shot. The angle adds to the dynamics of it. Have a great weekend.

  21. Frances D says:

    Great photo capture and choice of coloring. My favorite bit of the post – a slice of wonder from a destination that brings the unexpected. I could visualize it on my mind’s screen.

  22. cindy knoke says:

    Absolutely incredible capture is what I think!

  23. Given the cyclist I really like the angle of the image. Very effective.

  24. scillagrace says:

    Unusual form & angle…took a while to figure it out! Unexpected juxtaposition.

Leave a Reply

