South Yuba River, Northern California: The Connection between Nature and Human Nature

09 May 2014

Lens:

1. South Yuba River, Northern California, iPhone 4s, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

1. South Yuba River, Northern California, iPhone 4s, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

2. Bridge, South Yuba River, Northern California, iPhone 4s, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

2. Bridge, South Yuba River, Northern California, Nikon DSLR, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

3. Swimmer, South Yuba River, Northern California, Nikon DSLR, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

3. Swimmer, South Yuba River, Northern California, Nikon DSLR, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

4. Running, South Yuba River, Northern California, iPhone 4s, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

4. Running, South Yuba River, Northern California, iPhone 4s, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

5. South Yuba River, Nikon DSLR,, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

5. South Yuba River, Nikon DSLR,, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

6 Wildflowers, South Yuba River, Northern California, Nikon DSLR, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

6 Wildflowers, South Yuba River, Northern California, Nikon DSLR, April 2014; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

My recent pilgrimage to Northern California disclosed results of unforeseen forces from nature’s history. That was my reaction at the first sighting of the South Yuba River, which is north on Highway 49 and not far from where I was staying in Nevada City.

This place is so spectacular that I could barely hold my composure. The wild of this section of the Yuba River is a place that instigates huge respect and reverence for Mother Nature’s power and omnipresence.

The spatial planes give rise to awe and euphoria, and at the same time they urged me to investigate, to float along with the expanse. The scale simply staggers, and leaves no doubt that we must protect open space such as this grandiose spot.

The granite shapes are so massive as to diminish our physical place. Still, I felt completely at home, even serene in the abundance of the wilderness.

Swallows danced across the underbelly of the bridge, and dove into the waters. They were not in the least deterred by the few visitors swimming and wading, and enjoying the sun-drenched boulders.

Even as we explored and hiked above the river, the scene below wrapped itself around me with rapidity. My emotions continued to rise and even as wildflowers smiled at me, my thoughts were tranquilized, which allowed me to appreciate what was before me.

It was hard to leave, but we had destinations. This part of the South Yuba River is pronounced with visual prominence, and it is but one example of this region’s natural mystical qualities.

In the Lens section are six images taken with my iPhone 4s and my Nikon DSLR. They record a tiny hint of the breathtaking colors, formations and vast spaces associated with the South Fork of the Yuba River.

This river runs through the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains. Fortunately, it is part of the state park system, and the tender loving care that it’s given is obvious.

Mostly, I saw with clarity the bond between nature and human nature. Everyone explored in their own way: climbing, gazing, meditating, swimming, wading, and hiking. You can even pan for gold in the river.

The bridge allowed for a view that emphasized the beauty in a way that is missed on ground level. But in the river a different sense of calm and quiet is realized. Both views offer memorable moments that conjure the past and present.

Each person seemed totally at one with this nature wonder. The connection between the natural world and the human animal was simpatico. The sun beamed, the world was in balance at least for a while.

Note: As always I welcome your comments about this post or any part of my blog. If you want to read my first post about this recent trip to Northern California, click here.

This entry was posted in Art and Creativity, Black-and-White Photography, Human Nature, Inspiration, iPhoneography, Nature Photography, Phoneography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to South Yuba River, Northern California: The Connection between Nature and Human Nature

  1. The rocks are very stark against the colours of nature. The contrast is interesting. :)

  2. Simply wonderful photos and writing. How do you do it Ms. Lens & Pens. I am envious!

  3. What an adventure! Water so crystal clear inviting all to dive in and have a blast. Beautiful!

  4. cindy knoke says:

    Yay!!! Love this! <3

  5. narami says:

    I had never seen photos of this wonder before, what a place to get some fun shots!

  6. katie says:

    Hey there,

    Random question. I found your photos by doing a search of the most recent yuba photos. I am thinking of going to the river and was wondering if the water level was high near highway 49 crossing. Would you be able to tell me? Thanks for the beautiful photos!!!

  7. DG MARYOGA says:

    Great read and awesome photo series,dear Sally ! Your descriptions a real hymn to Nature for its beauty and its artistic disposition ! You are a magnificent lover of beauty,my friend !
    Hugs and love , Doda :) xxx

  8. Aquileana says:

    Remarkable photos… Good Job… Best wishes to you, Aquileana:)

  9. wisejourney says:

    Number 4
    I like the looking down…slight distorted aspect.

  10. Suzanne says:

    I think the photo of the swimmer beneath those amazing rocks really conveys the idea of humans interacting with the natural world.

  11. It looks a stunning place to visit Sally, Im leaning towards no 5, but it’s especially hard to pick a favourite as all of them are lovely reminders of your trip. :)

    • Amanda, it was like walking through a dream. Nature’s power is so tranquilizing and thought provoking at the same time. Thanks so much. (I’m still contemplating your query. Will answer this weekend.)

    • Amanda, I’ve thought a bit about your query. I still stand by the notion that the challenge is about alternative ways to photograph. The camera that you owns a camera. It was made to be a camera and even looks like a camera. It seems to defeat the notion of the challenge. I would estimate that the devices used range from Smartphones to iPods to iPads and Scanners. I know of no one who uses a traditional looking camera with a frontal lens. I struggled to rename the challenge and maybe it should say alternatives to cameras. The length of the title is such a issue. Please feel free to respond with another point of view.

  12. Gallivanta says:

    The humans look so tiny. Did you try swimming?

  13. vera ersilia says:

    I prefer the first image. I think that the others are a little overexposed or too white, which makes them look somewhat overexposed. I would correct them slightly to warmer tones. I only say this because you asked for opinions….
    The places are obviously grand !

  14. marialla says:

    WOW!!! WHAT A SIGHT!!! Thank you very much!

  15. iceman says:

    The 3rd picture is a dream

  16. Angeline M says:

    Your photos are a feast for the eyes.

  17. Dawn says:

    Lovely group of images – personal favorite is #4. The balance of colors and gentle reminder of how tiny we really are by comparison.

  18. What you described is one of the reasons I long each year to go to Wyoming and the mountains. It fills me with wonder and excitement, yet relaxes and refreshes me. Being able to walk around the small lake near our house does something similar on a smaller scale.

    I like the same photo as Patti does, for the same reason–the contrast between the immensity of the rocks and the smallness of the swimmer. But my favorite is the one two below it of the river running between and over the rocks. The color of the water is lovely, but it brings a sense of peace to me.

    When I saw an email saying you had a post today, I admit to wondering briefly what day it was or whether I’d missed something about the Phoneography Challenge. :-) But I enjoyed seeing more photos of your trip.

    Happy Friday to you.

    janet

    • Yes, I plan to do two posts per week that use my Nikon DSLR, and that means doing separate ones for a few weeks. Expect two a week, and hopefully I can manage it. Your comment fills me with joy. Thanks so much.

  19. pattimoed says:

    Welcome back, Sally! Glad you had a great trip. I especially like the b/w of the bridge, and the one beneath it of the swimmer. The contrast between the massive rocks and the “fragile” swimmer is fantastic.–Patti

Leave a Reply

