Foreshadowing Spring, Part One

05 March 2012

Lens:

Prunus Persica (Peach Tree) in Bud, March 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012  

Deciduous White Magnolia in Blossom., March 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Magnolia Saucer with Purple-Base Blossom, March 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Deciduous White Magnolia in Blossom, March 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which is your favorite.

Pens:

I grabbed my camera and tripod to bask in the late afternoon light. Its brilliance was so energetic that it turned gravity on its side and lassoed me. Two ingredients were prime for this photo shoot: the setting sun’s scattering beams and the glacial change of the sun’s angle as winter moves into spring.

Yes, spring seems to be here: early seasonal wildflowers are either blooming or spent. Trees are budding with a vengeance. Flowers nodding for a pose. Oh, and peepers melodic serenades are airborne through the woods.

I headed to my alma mater’s Botanic Gardens. As I ambled here and there, I found some worthy models. My favorites are posted in the Lens section, and clearly are signals of showy bloomers that are either in sync with the seasonal shift or premature with their presence.

Here are some interesting facts about magnolias. Each of the two varieties that I shot are deciduous, meaning that they do not keep their leaves in winter months like the Grandiflora Magnolia do. With over eighty varieties, the species was named by the French botanist Pierre Magnol (1638-1715). Some have blossoms with either single or double pistils. And it’s inspiring to know that these beauties are thought to be one of the oldest flowering plants.

Each of the varieties that I shot has its distinct fragrance that sent joy through my senses. The larger one with eight petals is almost pure white with just a slight hint of pink at its outer base. But the smaller blossom with six petals fans pinkish purple on its exterior. For me these foreshadows of spring created another fond memory of Mother Nature’s magic and majesty.

Note: As always I welcome your comments on this post or any part of my blog. Stay tuned for Foreshadowing Spring, Part Two.

This entry was posted in Gardens and Gardening, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Foreshadowing Spring, Part One

  1. stepupsteph says:

    Sally,
    What an extraordinary creative person you are. You are after my heart with everything. I happened to also love photography and writing, On top of that I so enjoy walking around the neighborhood and capturing flowers as well. I thought what you did recently with the orchids was magnificent. I would love to be surrounded by and lavished with orchids, a delicate scent of amber and yang yang and verbena, fine wine, dark chocolate, a camera and a journal. I would enjoy creating as you so beautifully are doing. Thank you for the pleasures.

    Stephanie

    • Your words are food for my soul. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the post. Spring is an amazing opportunity to see Nature’s bounty. Maybe you’ll be interested in my visits to Longwood Gardens, which were posted in February. Also, I will post this week the results of my visit to Longwood Garden’s International Orchid Show, which I attended on Sunday. Stephanie, thanks so much for your kind words and for visiting, Sally

  2. Your pictures of magnolia blossoms are indeed lovely. Did you lay the flowers on a glass table with light coming up from below? Too bad you can’t send us the scent.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • Yes, I use LED lights to illuminate the blossoms. What is so memorable about these flowers is the variation in the scent. The smaller one has a bit more power to its aroma. But both are a real treat for the senses. Thanks, Sally

  3. Gracie says:

    Beautiful, Sally! Love the second image, the white magnolia with the subtle pink hue at the base of the blossom.

  4. Wonderful photos – all of them. Favourite is Peach Buds. I love the matching colours of the background.

  5. barfab says:

    Dear Sally, I don’t know whether I like most your shots or your words. It’s not a big problem, anyway, being a matter of abundance. Hints of spring are manifest even here in Rome, after the snow we had this winter. Thanks for your generous examples of beauty contemplation.
    Fabio

    • Welcome, and thanks for your generous thoughts. Since my passions are focused on photography and writing, I am humbled and pleased by your comments. Gardening season is easing its way into my life, yet another passion of mine–the act of tending my gardens. You had snow in Rome–that must be unusual. Thanks again, Sally

  6. Breathtaking photos! I can almost feel the texture. Miss you!

  7. Cathy says:

    The second magnolia is my favourite, with delicate veins of colour showing. The third one is also lovely – so pure. Wonderful photos!

    • Thanks, Cathy, I’m glad that you visited, and I appreciate your kind comments. I just took a quick peek at your blog. Wanted you to know that my ancestors are from Bavaria. My cousins live in Freiburg, and we went to Heidingsfeld where my great, great uncle was born. It was an extraordinary moment for me to know that I was walking in the town where he lived as a youth. Then he immigrated to this country in 1849. It’s quite a story, Sally

  8. Tara says:

    Sally–that middle picture of the magnolia with the red in it is *luscious*!

Leave a Reply

