Thanks for the Kreativ Blogger Nomination

20 April 2012

Lens:

Tropical Flower, UD Botanic Gardens' Greenhouse, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Do you know the name of this hot pink tropical flower? While most of the greenhouse plants have tags naming their species, this one did not. I asked the caretaker watering the collection, but he was unfamiliar with it.

Pens:

I dedicate this post to Rebecca Dickinson who nominated me for the Kreativ Blogger Award. Please visit her blog, “A Word or More,” here.

Awards carry responsibility–responsibility to uphold the honor given and to abide by their rules. Four conditions come with this nomination, and this post is part of my compliance. But, more importantly, my expression of sincere gratitude.

The rules are:

  1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post. (done in first paragraph)
  2. Share seven things about yourself.
  3. Pass this award along to seven others.
  4. Contact your nominees to let them know about the award. (completed)

Number two:

Seven things about me (another seven are found here on my 10 February 2012 post titled “Thanks for the Versatile Blogger Nomination”):

1. I am a vegetarian who buys mostly organic products.

2. I love to hold a book in my hands.

3. The child in me loves Kinder Surprise Eggs (from Europe).

4. My gardens are my sanctuary.

5. I am an avid art lover.

6. My collection of Polaroid cameras will be coming out of their storage this summer.

7. Pop-up books astound me each and every time.

Number Three (in no particular order):

1. Carl Chapman at http://letterfromnorfolk.wordpress.com

2. Redwater Ramblings at http://everedwater.wordpress.com

3. Nick Exposed at http://nickexposed.com

4. A Year in the Life at http://ayearinmyshoes.wordpress.com

5. Mostly Monochrome at http://mostlymonochrome.wordpress.com

6. John Pitts at http://phototalkdaily.wordpress.com

7. Claire Atkinson, The Urban Photographer at http://clairejatkinson.wordpress.com

Now I can tell you about another gift my nominator, Rebecca Dickinson, unknowingly gave me. When you check out her blog you’ll see various badges on the right column. I was ecstatic (yes) to find one that says, “Read the Printed Word.” For me a book cradled in my hands is one of life’s pleasures (see number two where I list the seven things about me).

The words on the badge reminded me of a recent article by one of the professors at my alma mater. Fanfare for the Comma was in the New York Times’ Opinionator column on April 09. The author, Ben Yagoda, who is professor of English at the University of Delaware, wrote about the rules of punctuation: specifically the comma. He laments that his students read less “edited prose.” Their writing is influenced by the informality and shorthand used in social networks. These new ways of communication coupled with less attention to the rules of grammar create a loss of skills in “punctuation and spelling.”

To add to this commentary, bookstore owner Ann Patchett’s New York Times’ article (And the Winner Isn’t…) from April 17 discusses the 2012 Pulitzer Prize Committee’s decision not to name a finalist in the fiction category (announced on April 16). She emphasizes, “Reading fiction is important.” Patchett mentions some of this year’s finest publications in fiction, and the cultural hole being left by a finalist not be selected. Although we are not privy to the reason for this decision, it still sad news.

Most generations are suffering from the “digital-age” syndrome: brevity as the daily conundrum. People are reading vast amounts of information and smaller amounts of well-written prose. Of course, there is good literature found in cyberspace (access to articles, journals, magazines, and newspapers to name a few), and the e-reader is popular.

While language is known to change and evolve, the physical form of books is doing the same. I often wonder if we shouldn’t be publishing mostly paperbacks–the original disposal read. The cost is reduced and the words remain the same; it doesn’t use electricity or super strain your vision. Early pulp fiction spread the printed word (economically and effectively–even providing space for artists to make a few nickels and dimes). There’s nothing wrong with grabbing an idea from the past for the present.

And so I also dedicate my award to the printed word–not brief bites but sturdy prose that gives us another way to see ourselves and the world. To quote from my nominator’s blog: “Writing is my profession. Reading books is a passion.” Let’s lobby for more reading of books, more time spent in a hammock deeply entranced by the printed word.

As always I welcome any comment about this post or any  part of this blog.

This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thanks for the Kreativ Blogger Nomination

  1. I took an interest in reading because my mom read to me. I wanted to be able to do what she did, so I did everything I could to be able to read like that.

    I was going to give you the name of your flower but I see you already have it. Alstroemerias are blooming profusely here in San Diego right now. They are a residential favorite.

  2. "Occam Blade" says:

    There’s much we’re missing in reading and of course writing. I say provide all young citizens starting at age 10 a copy of “Elements of Style” by Strunk and White, a journal and a fountain pen with a bottle of ink. For those suffering from “digital-age syndrome” have their electronic devices inert until the user can answer a multiple-choice question derived from “Elements of Style.” By doing so, one would hope that young minds would be able to develop an appreciation for both writing and reading. I love holding books to read; it’s visceral. More importantly, while walking the beach in summer with my wife, I can sometimes catch a glimpse of what folks are reading thereby getting a rather inaccurate, but interesting barometer of what’s “en vogue.”

    • We’re certainly of similar minds. You’re words ring true to me. I wish that the joy of the printed book could find its way into every child’s heart. Then stay there as a lesson in lifelong learning for the rest of their days. Thanks, Sally

  3. I think the pink flower is an Alstroemeria.

  4. livvy30 says:

    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

