Slowly Tipping into Spring, Part One: Longwood Gardens

03 May 2012

Lens:

1. Viridiflora Tulip ‘Virichic,’ Longwood Gardens, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 20122. Viridiflora Tulip ‘Virichic,’ Longwood Gardens, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012 

3. Viridiflora Tulip ‘Virichic,’ Longwood Gardens, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012 

4. Foxglove, Digitalis purpurea, ‘Excelsior Mix,’ Longwood Gardens, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012 

5. Foxglove, Digitalis purpurea, ‘Excelsior Mix,’ Longwood Gardens, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012 

6. Foxglove, Digitalis purpurea, ‘Excelsior Mix,’ Longwood Gardens, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012 

7. Foxglove, Digitalis purpurea, ‘Excelsior Mix,’ Longwood Gardens, April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012 

8. Poppy-Flowered Anemone, ‘Mister Fokkler,’ April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012 

9. Poppy-Flowered Anemone, ‘Mister Fokkler,’ April 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which is your favorite.

Pens:

In the Middle Atlantic states Spring has strut her stuff with confidence and cunning. The temps have moved cautiously, doing a back-and-forth dance. We’re even being paraded with rain, which we desperately needed. But I always tell new gardeners, the last frost date is May 15. Enthusiasm is a marvelous attribute. But it’s good to hold tight with the summer poseys and veggies.

This advice has been especially true in the last week with a few frost warnings. Before another day vanished, I decided to visit my favorite regional gardens. I knew that Longwood Gardens was lined in a second wave of Spring flowers, and I did not want to miss them.

Along the Garden Walk area I was shocked to see five-to-six-feet-high foxgloves beaming in pinkish-purples. A white variety was tucked into the end of the rows. April seems  early to see drifts of row after row of these elongated biennials. Mostly, their stature begged for all eyes to be fixed on them. The ‘Excelsior Mix’ astonished with bright exterior hues and alluring interior markings. It’s easy to surmise why insects are drawn into their core of nectar.

My desire to stroll the grounds was satiated with the staff’s hard work, including plantings of anemones and tulips. Luscious varieties were accented by the late afternoon sunlight. A light breeze followed me, and each flower swayed in its own grace, making it a bit difficult to still them with my camera’s lens.

The Viridiflora Tulip ‘Virichic’ is new to me. Its intense palette of deep pink to almost red with strips of green and slashes of white stayed in my thoughts the rest of the day.

This purely Spring narrative gave me just the right spike of floral extravagance that I’ve come to experience at Longwood Gardens. While my agenda was apparent, the nature of these visits are never crystalline; a day’s journey usually combines fluid and  unexpected memories with a cache of photographs.

Our emotional responses to such events can be triggered and recalled. In the moment of discovery an indelible act occurs; it’s just not as easy to replicate in the aftermath of the illumination.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog. To visit Longwood Gardens online, click here.

This entry was posted in Gardens and Gardening, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Slowly Tipping into Spring, Part One: Longwood Gardens

  1. FlowerAlley says:

    I stumbled upon some “pitchers” in Cheraw, SC last spring. I also love Foxgloves. They are my favorites. Magical photos. Thank you.

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    What a beautiful garden and your photos are so fabulous 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Beautiful purple! Foxgloves are lovely, perfect lighting. Thank you!

  4. niki says:

    You always amaze me with your gorgeous pictures! I can’t decide which one is my favorite because I can’t choose! I love them all 🙂 Fantastic colors and beautiful flowers.

    • Thanks Niki, flowers are such inspirations for those of us who admire their majesty. Spring gives us just a hint of what is to bewitch us over the summer months. Many thanks for your thoughtful words, Sally

  5. marialla says:

    wow what beautiful pictures!!!!

  6. Gracie says:

    As usual, these are amazing photographs, Sally. And have I ever told you, I love your writing as well!

  7. Nico Calavita says:

    Five and seven are especially beautiful

  8. Those foxgloves are out of this world! Gorgeous purple hues, detail shots and lighting. Absolutely stunning photographs!!! Great findings and post 🙂

Leave a Reply

