Spring’s Oriental Poppy, Part One: Red with Splashes of Black

09 May 2012

Lens:

1. Oriental Red Poppy, UD Botanic Gardens, May 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Center of Oriental Red Poppy, UD Botanic Gardens, May 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

3. Center of Oriental Red Poppy, UD Botanic Gardens, May 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

4. Exterior of Oriental Red Poppy, UD Botanic Gardens, May 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

5. Interior of Oriental Red Poppy, UD Botanic Gardens, May 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Pens:

This post is dedicated to Amy who nominated me for two awards: Kreativ Blogger Award (I was nominated and accepted this award in my 19 April post, visit here) and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. See Amy at her blog “The World is a Book,” just click here.

Here are the rules for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award:

  1. First, acknowledge and thank the giver, link it back, and put the award on your page. (Check)
  2. Next, list 7 things about yourself (see below).
  3. Last, pass the award to 7 bloggers who inspire you (see below).

Seven things about me:

1. I’m a vegetarian.

2. I do not have T.V. service, but I’m not a Luddite.

3. Arugula (yum) is grown year-round in my garden.

4. I work daily in my gardens.

5. While no board game will ever replace my affinity for Scrabble, a friend just introduced me to WELDER. It’s going to be a blast.

6. Hummingbirds and house wrens are two of my favorite parts of spring’s arrivals.

7. Snoopy is my guy.

It is my pleasure to nominate the following bloggers for the Very Inspiring Bloggers Award (in no particular order). Each nominee deserves this award for their inspirational and spiritual work. Please visit their sites.

Gracie at http://framesandfocus.wordpress.com

Emil at http://kodakmomentos.wordpress.com

Matthew at http://photolord.com

The Island Traveler at http://thismansjourney.net

Suzie at http://suziebluephoto.wordpress.com

Anne at http://zenandgenki.com

Otto at http://munchow.wordpress.com

Now I want to spread my enthusiasm for the first of the season’s Oriental poppies.   Whether a single flower or meadow-like swatches this dainty flower head has a delicate display of beauty. Their paper-thin petals are saturated with hues that pop. Even the softer colors are appealing with the light of a Spring day capturing their magic. You have to savor the poppy (P. orientale), because its extravagance fades quickly, leaving the center to stand in remembrance.

On a photo shoot with my grandson last weekend a small garden of mixed Spring flowers grabbed our attention. The pink and red poppies were slightly bending in a light breeze.

In the Lens section are the first of the poppies that dazzled my senses. The outer petals of the red poppy were awash in splashes of black that were brushed with care upward toward the sky. The center of each quietly mounted shades of purple. Each poppy having its own personality. They stood three-feet high and were impatient to poise for me.

That highly-cultivated area was our first stop at the University of Delaware Botanic Gardens. The mid-season bounty of their others gardens were beaming with newly-blooming shades and shapes. We had our choice of several areas with spaces designed for native plants, wetlands, woodlands, and even areas with color trials. It’s splendrous.

The small meadow garden was, by far, the most enticing. But as the season ambles toward summer, each visit will reward with expected and unexpected flora. Each one doing its best to be the best. My effort is one of voyeur–a voyeur who records the exuberance of these beautifully-rendered botanic gardens.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Gardens and Gardening, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Spring’s Oriental Poppy, Part One: Red with Splashes of Black

  1. munchow says:

    Congratulations with the award. It is very well deserved. And thank you for passing it on to me. I am honoured.

    • Munchow, your photographs and words truly are inspirational. Your vision travels through the language of each, and renders the viewer richer for the experience. You deserve the recognition. Many thanks for the comment, Sally

  2. Beautiful flowers! So much vivid color =)

  3. Images that brightens anyone’s heart. Just beautiful with rich and vibrant colors. I enjoyed reading the list of things about you. You’re blessed in so many way. And not having a T.V., just admirable. I salute you for that. There are so many things we can do, creative things that would be both entertaining and fruitful at the same time. Thanks for the award. It’s an honor. Congratulations. Your blog is full of inspiration.

  4. Amy says:

    It takes a great effort to capture the beauty of these Oriental poppies, and your “pens” made these photos very special. Thank you!

  5. Thanks, so much, Sally, what a nice way to begin the day!
    Was also wondering if you would be open to my using some of your images on Z & G as either a featured “Daily Shot” or as a part of my “Pics of the Week” series? Of course you would be fully credited and your blog linked 🙂 If you could like me know, that’d be great! I think you’ve got a marvelous eye.
    Have a great day!
    anne

  6. Gracie says:

    Thanks for the nomination, Sally!
    Love your poppy photos, and how some appears as abstract. Well done!

  7. rtd14 says:

    I love your pictures! They are so beautiful! The red, black and slight violet colors mix so well together. You did a great job capturing those colors and the beauty of the poppies. Thank you for sharing! I always enjoy your photos and artwork!

Leave a Reply

