Seemingly Divergent Journeys Co-Exist

12 June 2012

Lens:

1. Light and Dark, Longwood Gardens, May 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Light and Dark, Longwood Gardens, May 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Pens:

There are slight differences between image one and two. Let me know which is your favorite.

Pens:

Clearly, the fusion between my online journey and my soon-to-be travels are simpatico. Let me explain. This current post is another milestone for my blogging life; it’s my one hundredth post.

What blurs the lines between the launch date and today’s publication is its correlation with a traveler’s experience. Both seize the way we see ourselves through ourselves. Both caress the way the mind is influenced by the kinesthetic. Both open our eyes to the undiscovered in our external and internal universes.

We touch a key, we click, we connect, we sit, we watch: we are enriched by and with someone’s response, the interaction.

We board a train or plane and we sense our energy soaring, we spy new land, we are enthralled with the new: we are enriched by those we meet.

We add layers to who we are. We bring the unknown into the known.

So I dedicate this post to all of you who have supported my efforts, who have given me much more than I could have anticipated. This journey continues to bring a mixture of certainty and uncertainty. Each parading themselves as if they were sand and surf washing across my thoughts.

A balance surges, and each sure-footed step mingles with the hesitant ones. Each measure of an experience is broadened by the reach and touch of others. This interdependence is achieved through a relatively new form of travel: the Internet. But nothing can substitute for the journey that has my feet gliding across the path to spontaneous combustion of the never before.

In the Lens section are two photographs taken seconds apart. Subtleties in a photograph can create enough change that content and context can be transformed. These small and sometimes substantive differences may or may not be noticed by the viewer. But the photographer knows, and selects the one that fulfills elements needed for approval.

For days prior to today’s launch, which recorded one hundred posts, I began to digest the fullness of this journey. I’m grateful to all the readers who visit, leave comments and “Like” my work. It’s because of your generosity that this experience is heartfelt.

This blogging life is a continual challenge with many rewards. Truly, the most beneficial are the people who I am meeting and the community of photographers and writers that share through cyberspace. Many, many thanks for joining this online journey with me. And I adore the blogs that I am following; they offer so many points of references and visions that it is inspiring.

Since I’m in a vacation mode, today’s post will have to hold my spot on the Internet until I return. But I’ll be back.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes about travel:

“Travel makes one modest, you see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.”— Gustave Flaubert

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” Marcel Proust

“My dream is to walk around the world. A smallish backpack, all essentials neatly in place. A camera. A notebook. A traveling paint set. A hat. Good shoes. A nice pleated (green?) skirt for the occasional seaside hotel afternoon dance.” Maira Kalman, The Principles of Uncertainty

“He who returns from a journey is not the same as he who left.” Proverb

“Every hundred feet the world changes.” Roberto Bolaño, 2666

Meanwhile you can be thinking about my destination, which is one of the five most beloved cities visited in the USA. Truthfully, it’s one of my top five-starred cities of the world. No more hints, new posts to follow at the end of June, which will showcase this family trip. And thanks again for being there.

Note: I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Human Nature, Photography, Traveling and Travels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seemingly Divergent Journeys Co-Exist

  1. niki says:

    I think you have an amazing blog, your posts are always creative and inspiring…you are doing a great job ! I can’t choose between those two pictures because each has its own beauty 🙂

  2. What a lovely, thoughtful post! Thank you for the good read 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Like your lens, your pens poetically described the wonderful blogging journey and blogging world. I feel fortunate to be one of your followers, have learned to see the world a little different from your lens and pens. I expressed my small thought about blogging some months ago: http://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/2011/09/20/more-than-156-million-stars/ if you have a moment…

Leave a Reply

