WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming (with the Mamas and the Papas)

13 July 2012

Lens:

My Grandchildren, Santa Cruz Inlet, California, iPhone 4s, June 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know what you think about this photograph.

Pens:

WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge asks participants to focus on dreaming. Immediately, I thought about a simple image that is layered in meaning about life’s dreamy moments of adventure and longing.

A dear friend and I took my grandchildren to Santa Cruz inlet where they scaled the beach with excitement. They eagerly reached the shoreline, and the scene reminded me of a silent film with stilled voices and dramatic action.

It was their first time to touch Pacific (frigid) waters. It was a stirring moment with lots of possibilities that the West Coast offers–a coastline 3,000 miles away from our beaches in Delaware.

I am reminded of the 1960s song “California Dreamin” by the Mamas & the Papas, which perfectly fits this weeks challenge and my photograph. Click here to see the video on YouTube.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Family Matters, Human Nature, Photography, Traveling and Travels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming (with the Mamas and the Papas)

  1. A happy image that celebrates great times with families. Love how the water playfully circles the feet.

  2. marialla says:

    Nice photo – I know one person who always takes pictures of his feet whenever he goes somewhere new. Always a pleasure to check into your world. Thank you>

  3. Lovely shot. I can hear and smell the sea!

  4. Your lovely picture captures a Robert Louis Stevenson poem I used to have read to me as a child called “seashore.” I hadn’t thought about that poem in years…thanks!

  5. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE : DREAMING « 2012 – ON THE BENCH

  6. Val says:

    I like the way it looks like the water is wrapping itself around their ankles.

  7. rtd14 says:

    I always enjoy your blog and pictures. Your picture reminds so many of their first beach memory. I do not remember my own, but I recall how haunted I felt when I heard California Dreamin’ for the first time.

    • Rebecca, thanks for your thoughtful comment. I feel very lucky to have grown up in the Mid Atlantic of the USA. Every summer of my youth was filled with family vacations at the seashore. Everyone can find some aspect of the beach’s sand and surf to enjoy. Thanks again, Sally

Leave a Reply

