WordPress’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

22 July 2012

Lens:

1. Flower of the Trumpet Vine (Campsis radicans), iPhone 4s, July 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Flower of the Trumpet Vine (Campsis radicans), Nikon DSLR, July 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which image is your favorite.

Pens:

Inside is the theme of WordPress’s Weekly Photo Challenge. Last week I was following my resident hummingbirds’ daily journey through my garden. Since it’s mid summer, they can frequent an abundance of blossoms.

First, they make the rounds of a mature native trumpet vine (Campsis radicans) that I’ve cultivated for twelve years. This season the vine is blanketed with pinkish-orange and red-orange flowers. While humans gaze upon their inner and outer beauty, wildlife are drawn to this trumpet creeper for its production of delectable nectar and brilliance of hues.

Since I’m east of the Mississippi, ruby-throated is the only species of hummingbirds that we see in Delaware. Occasionally, others will crisscross invisible borders. Lately, stories circulate about  infrequent strays sticking around through milder winters.

Most of my adult life I’ve been mesmerized by these aggressive and stunning aviators. They represent beauty and courage and determination and energy and intrigue and perseverance. They never disappoint, only fascinate.

Hummingbirds’ slender and tubular beak force me to grow trumpet-shaped plants that provide them a source of continuous meals. Think cardinal flower, cypress vine, salvia, pineapple and tangerine sage, petunia, jewel weed, nasturtium, penstemon. But they also sip from other shaped flowers, including bee balm, cleome, phlox, impatiens, geranium, zinnia. Hummers are mostly drawn to a palette of deep oranges and reds. And my garden complies with a fashion show of choices for them.

Several times a day these diminutive birds soar inside my wildlife habitats, spritely  savoring juices as well as insects. Quick winged their fuel needs to be constantly replenished. It’s a strange and wondrous miracle of nature’s inventions: fill her up in flight, fly and create the need to be filled up again.

So I grab moments to witness their passage from one floral delight to another, allowing me to enter their world. I am a voyeur inside of nature’s theater, and the pleasure is indescribable.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Gardens and Gardening, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to WordPress’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

  1. I always thought they are beautiful but today, they simply shine in all their amazing glory through your lens. Wow!

  2. It isn’t often that the flowers I know from Austin are also native in Delaware, but this is one of those cases—and I see that the trumpet vine even grows on Long Island, where I grew up but was unaware of such things.

    And speaking of being unaware, I didn’t realize that the iPhone 4S could focus so close: I may have to play around some more with mine.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • I’ve been intrigued by the proliferation of photographers that are using iPhones. So I’m experimenting. I plan to bring a few people (aka bloggers) together in the latter days of August, and launch a iPhoneography Challenge. Have quite a few interested. You’ll be able to peruse my initial post and have a mini-lesson in using them. Thanks, Sally

  3. Gracie says:

    Love your interpretation of the current theme, Sally. The details on the first image are awesome.

  4. Excellent depth of field on the close up work Sally.

  5. Madhu says:

    Absolutely stunning, both! Hard to choose really 🙂

  6. Nancy Gray says:

    I see Georgia O’Keefe ideals in these photos. Nancy

  7. marialla says:

    just fantastic shots of the insides and close-ups of flower. Why you might just be a hummingbird with a camera!!! Good work – both pictures exquisite!!! Thank you.

  8. mandaray says:

    The first picture is my favorite. 🙂 So vibrant! They’re both beautiful, though.

  9. Angela Breuer says:

    Beautiful–pictures and prose. I share your wonder and admiration for these tiny birds and their brave and fierce personalities.

Leave a Reply

