An Award that Brings Additional Sunshine to a Summer’s Day

07 August 2012

Lens:

Multiple Views, Inside the Lobby of Hotel du Pont, iPhone 4s, July 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Pens:

I feel particularly blessed. On a heavily humid day a message arrived that Otto of “Muchow’s Creative Photo Blog” nominated me for the “Inspiring Blog Award.” To me the most important part of the award (like the other awards that are posted on the right side of my Homepage) is: another photographer and lover of words anointed my blog worthy of recognition.

Somehow Otto and I found each other though the community of online bloggers, and I have gained enormous admiration for his work. Click here to visit his site. While he lives on the other side of the globe, we are tethered by our passion for images and words. Everyday I am reminded that living in the twenty-first century has exhilarating advantages: technological innovations being high on the list.

The rules for the “Inspiring Blog Award” are:

  1. Acknowledge and thank the giver. (check)
  2. Link back to the nominator’s blog. (check)
  3. Put the award on my Homepage. (check)
  4. List seven things about myself. (see below)
  5. Give the award to seven bloggers who inspire me. (see below)

Here are seven things about me:

1. I enjoy a challenge.

2. Mostly, I read nonfiction.

3. I garden and walk daily (unless the weather impedes my plans)

4. I am a devoted fan of Ray and Charles Eames’ designs.

5. Once I was a fiber artist.

6. Most of my career was in higher education.

7. Much of my early career was spent as an arts advocate.

Here are the names and links of the blogs that inspire me (and in no particular order):

1. This Man’s Journey at http://thismansjourney.net

2. See What Eye See at http://nikkisimages.wordpress.com

3. Alicia Scott Photographer at http://aliciascottphotographer.wordpress.com

4. Leanne Cole’s Photography Field Trips at http://leannecolephotography.com

5. Now We Are Sixty  at http://nowwearesixty.com

6. The World Is a Book at http://shareandconnect.wordpress.com

7. The Urge to Wander at http://theurgetowander.com

And finally, in the Lens section is a photograph taken in the lobby of the Hotel du Pont. Twilight was beginning its show, and the light through the glass created multiple reflections. It seems an apt image for the way I feel about my online journey, because I am being introduced to multiple individuals of multiple talents who open multiple worlds to me. I extend my gratitude to Otto, and to all those who stop to view the universe through my lens and pens.

Note: As always I welcome as comment about this post of any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Human Nature, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to An Award that Brings Additional Sunshine to a Summer’s Day

  1. Yeah! Yahoo! Yippee! & Congratulations! Now I’m off to click on your nominee links.

  2. Geoff says:

    Congratulations Sally 🙂

  3. Gracie says:

    Congratulations, Sally! Very well deserved 🙂

    • Thanks–I’m organizing my thoughts about the iPhoneography Challenge. Do you have any suggestions? To date I’ve never collaborated on a post, but that might be fun. Would you be interested? We could begin by a short discussion between us via e-mail. Thanks again for your comment.

      • Gracie says:

        Sure! Let me try to come up with a few suggestions this weekend and I will get back to you, if that’s OK. I’m mostly a scatter-brain when I’m at work. LOL.

      • Absolutely, that will be good. I’ll compose a message to you and send it on Saturday. Then you can respond based on my preliminary ideas and suggestions. This is an experiment, and I’m sure that it will take a few back-and-forths between us to get a working concept. Many thanks.

  4. Nancy Gray says:

    Congratulations for a consistently well written blog that touches the heart.

    Nancy

  5. Leanne Cole says:

    Congratulations on your award, it is a great thing to be given an award. Thanks as well for nominating me, I really appreciate it.

  6. Amy says:

    Congratulations, Sally! I’m flattered to be on your list! Thank you!

  7. Madhu says:

    Congratulations Sally! I appreciate your kindness in nominating me.

Leave a Reply

