WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

07 September 2012

Lens:

1. Catch Basin, Nikon DSLR, August 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Sunset, iPhone 4s, August 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

3. Shadow and Sunset, iPhone 4s, August 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which is your favorite.

Pens:

Recently, I was completing errands at an infrequent spot for such excursions. My inner voice told me to drive behind the u-shaped shopping center. I’m always on the search for a photo shoot. There along the highway, which parallels the area, was a catch basin. But it was not just the body of water that caught my eye. A trio of circumstances fused into an opportunity: azure skies with billowy crisp white clouds, reflections, and open-work in the small structure sitting in the water. When I read about WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge, this image (photograph one) was a must.

Each of the images, which are found in the Lens section, is representative of the theme: near and far. Sometimes what should be near is far and vice versus. Photograph one typifies this reversal.

In the last two weeks sunsets have been sparkling jewels of radiance. On my early evening walks I time them to savor these spectacles. Two of them seemed fitting for this week’s challenge. During these sojourns I take my iPhone to capture objects or scenes that entice.

Photograph two is purposely taken on an angle to position the sunlight’s glow in opposition to the foreground and the road. Photograph three was taken to seize the moment where my shadow crossed rays of the sunset.

Today we have another challenge to perk the synapses. Thanks WordPress.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

  1. KOH  says:

    Light and shadow is beautiful〜love it
    Joyful day~dear ^^

  2. Dramatic B&W effect. The play of light and shadows adds up to an irresistible mystery. Beautiful!

  3. marialla says:

    I LIKED 2 OF THE PHOTOS BEST BUT MY FAVOURITE IS OF THE SUNSET. THE FIRST ONE REMINDED ME OF AN ASIAN MOVIE CALLED – SPRING SUMMER FALL WINTER – (IT MIGHT HAVE A SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT ORDER ) WHICH WAS VERY INTERESTING ON MANY LEVELS. THE SECOND (AND REALLY, i WOULD SAY MY FAVOURITE) OF THE SUNSET BROUGHT TEARS TO MY EYES BECAUSE, FOR ME, IT SO SPEAKS TO WHERE LIFE SEEMS TO BE STANDING CURRENTLY. IT IS A PLACE WE ALL STAND FROM TIME TO TIME BUT TO STAND THERE FOR A LONG TIME SOMETIMES DOES SEEM LIKE AN AWFULLY HEAVY WEIGHT!!! TO WALK INTO THE LIGHT, I THINK (THOUGH AT TIME SHOCK FUSED), IS BEST DONE QUICKLY!! BUT LIFE HAS ITS OWN WAY – WE CAN ONLY BOW TO IT GRACEFULLY!~!!

    • Marialla, your comments are deeply appreciated. Sunsets can be witnessed with causal attention, or have a more intense and profound effect. I wish that you could have shared the “live” moment with me as the light radiated through me.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far Rear view and beyond « patriciaddrury

  5. It took me a moment to ‘realise’ the second photo. Clever use of angle. The first one is IT for me.

  6. Each image is a revelation of something beautiful and amazing. Like an exciting story that holds the viewer under its spell.

  7. Nico says:

    The first one moved me on so many levels. Life and time seem still, but the structure is about time’s past. Words that come to mind: Floating, transparency, ethereal, dreamy, depth, tremulous, layers, webs, light and darkness.

    • A photograph stops time and yet it is time. The viewer is able to enter into its visual story. That narrative may or may not equate to the photographer’s storytelling. This ability of both maker and watcher to have their own viewpoint is one of the illuminations of photography for me. A photograph is never exactly what is seems. Thanks.

  8. eof737 says:

    Terrific black and white shots. Do check out my contribution. 🙂

  9. Janice D says:

    All of them are awesome…but I think I like the originality of the shadow one best. 🙂

  10. Love the reflection shot. =)

  11. your pictures are just amazing! I particularly like the third one but all are fabulous! Thanks for sharing! Cheers to more good challenges!

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far (Lesbos) « What's (in) the picture?

  13. Chris Bronsk says:

    First one is stunning, but the second one grabs me even more. Great shots.

  14. Loving the shadow picture

Leave a Reply

