WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Mine

01 October 2012

Lens:

Maggie, iPhone 4s, June 2012;; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Pens:

WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge gives me the opportunity to introduce my sixteen-year old female cat, Maggie. She has all the qualities of a devoted feline–a feline that clings to me when she has needs (like warmth in the winter months) and independence and self-reliance (she’s a diehard of fan of Ralph Waldo Emerson) the rest of the time.

But I’m beginning to worry about her. After all she is aging. She has beat the odds of most cats, and may surpass high-end statistical predictions of twenty years. At least I hope that she does.

She’s mine; my companion and soul pet. Well, if you do not count my Disney world of backyard birds and other wildlife.

I took the photograph in the Lens section in June. I had just gotten my iPhone 4s, and wanted to see its capabilities as part of my photographic toolbox. I fell instantly in love with its quirky ways and its possibilities. This semi-portrait of my cat will always have two memories: her personality showing through the edges of the photograph and my new camera.

Thanks again WordPress for the challenge.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Human Nature, Photography, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Mine

  1. Thanks for sharing Maggie with us. She is beautiful and shared so many treasured years with you. Love how you captured her shadow and the her eyes at the same time.

  2. I love this photo!! It’s the most unique picture of a cat I have ever seen. Maggie must be very proud.

  3. Nancy Gray says:

    This picture is magic. The word unique applies.

  4. That’s a very interesting shot! Good job! And a very cute cat of course! 🙂

  5. Interesting photo of your 16 y/o cat. I recently found your blog and like what I see and read. I am not sure how I stumbled across it. I dont’ think it was through WordPress. I saw your blog name when you commented on another blog. You most likely know this and are keeping your cat healthy with good dental care. Often times this will prolong the life of your cat or dog.

  6. marialla says:

    Oh how interesting picture!!! Very well done!!!

Leave a Reply

