WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Big

12 October 2012

Lens:

1. “Me,” Outdoor Sculpture, UD Campus, Nikon DSLR, August 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Mustard Seeds, iPhone 4s, August 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which is your favorite.

Pens:

The two photographs in the Lens section are my interpretation of WordPress’ Weekly Challenge: Big. Photograph one is the quintessential commentary on the human ego. A large outdoor sculpture puffs up the two letters “Me” with such pizzazz that we cringe and smile at the implications. Photograph two is an experiment with my iPhone. I was taking close-ups of seeds. Mustard seeds are teeny tiny bursts of expansive flavor, and I was astonished at their range of color.

Both of my photographs are exemplary of the theme. Each image captivates the notion of big from different viewpoints: 1. the big that explodes and exploits the notion of the self; and, 2. the small that can be seen in its larger version: an illusion of big.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Big

  1. My first thought was not mustard seeds but lychee nuts, perhaps the legacy of many a childhood visit to the local Chinese restaurant.

  2. Thanks for the photo and post . . . I must say – you are great with your phone!!!!!! What an artist!

  3. eof737 says:

    Love that ME sign. 😉

  4. marialla says:

    VERY WELL DONE – THANK YOU. I ESPECIALLY LIKE THE HOLE YOU CAUGHT IN YOUR PHOTO OF THE “ME” SIGN!!!! HOWEVER!~!!!! THE GREATNESS OF THE HUMBLE MUSTARD SEED CANNOT BE DENIED!!! THANK YOU!!!

  5. I can’t believe you took that picture of the mustard seeds with your phone. That’s awesome!

  6. Like them both but my favorite is “ME” of course. Ha, ha, ha. We all need to feel like this from within “big and confident” of who we are and what we do. Great post.

    • I like your interpretation. This public sculpture forces the viewer to look within, and therefore try to learn and express that inner core. But it also can be seen as a huge ego boasting about “ME.” Of course, this ambivalence about what the artist intended is part of why art is vital to humanity: it stirs the heart, mind and spirit; it pushes the edges of our thinking. Thanks.

  7. mhdriver says:

    I like ME of course, I like you too for posting ME

  8. Terrific examples of BIG. Nice work. Do you think the ME artist was an “ego maniac?” I’m just joking. I can not fathom what the artist might be trying to convey but it is interesting.

  9. great entry for the theme of the week!

  10. Pingback: Big, big storm coming this way! « 3rdculturechildren

  11. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: BIG | allaboutwordswa

  12. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Big. « 3rdculturechildren

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Big | Mike Hardisty Photography

  14. Jo Bryant says:

    That sign is my favourite…though I do like the texture of the seeds.

  15. Northern Narratives says:

    I also like the seeds.

  16. Veronica Roth says:

    Loving the human ego shot! Nicely big. 🙂

  17. nuvofelt says:

    Wow, love the texture and colour of the seeds.

  18. irishrd says:

    I like the first one 🙂

    • This sculpture is displayed behind the art department’s studio building at the University of Delaware. It grabs your attention, and you just smile with curiosity about the artist’s intentions. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

