The Sunshine Award Brings Beams of Sunlight

10 November 2012

Lens:

Geranium Petal, iPhone 4s, October 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Geranium Floret., iPhone 4s, October 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Pens:

I dedicate this post to Gracie who nominated me for the Sunshine Award. Please see her photography at Frames & Focus. I’m sending Gracie this one floret from a geranium that bloomed last month. It brought brazing light into my day, and it seems an appropriate tribute to her art that does the same for me. Please click on the link  that is highlighted to see her site, which showcases her surroundings in Montreal. It’s worth the cyberspace journey.

Geraniums are one of my prized plants. During the warm months they “grace” my gardens, and in the cooler and colder ones they grow steadily in a sunlit area of my kitchen. I am blessed each winter with reminders of what the other seasons will reveal.

Geraniums are mysteriously gorgeous with a kaleidoscopic range of hues.  As you examine their physical structure, you “see” the multiple florets that produce an abundance of jewel-like colors. My favorites are deep pinks to purple reds. Their qualities are mesmerizing: tiny petals of radiant coloration, delicate florets with silky soft material, gradation of colored petals, centers with competing beauty, leaves with distinct veins, and buds with striking allure.

There are so many varieties of these floral gems that I often wonder why I stick with the original variety. Sometimes I add the marvelous scented-oiled kind; they are deliciously aromatic.

Even with nights dipping into the 30s, I still have geraniums in outside planters. This weekend I will snip some cuttings to begin propagation inside. These will sustain me until late spring or early summer. It’s too simple to say that geraniums are a source of year-round jubilance. But it’s the truth.

Since one of the joys of receiving a nomination is passing on the “sunshine,” here are my nominees for the Sunshine Award (in no particular order):

http://lespetitspasdejuls.wordpress.com

http://northernnarratives.wordpress.com

http://lightshadowcolor.wordpress.com

http://watchingthephotoreels.com

http://patriciaddrury.com

http://aliciascottphotographer.wordpress.com

http://toffeefee.wordpress.com

Once again my heartfelt thanks to Gracie for sprinkling some radiance over and through my days.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Gardens and Gardening, Human Nature, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Sunshine Award Brings Beams of Sunlight

  1. Congratulations my friend. Just like the Geraniums, you have a beautiful blog that just shines with amazing vividness through your words and images.

  2. Shutterbug Sage says:

    What a great list! I think all but one blog are new to me, and I look forward to following them. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Well done on this new award. Your photography deserves this sort of recognition.

  4. A very nice award, indeed. Love that red.

  5. marialla says:

    WOW!! QUITE THE BEAUTY!! THANK YOU – BEAUTIFULLY TAKEN AND PRESENTED!!

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Congratulations and thank you for the nomination 🙂

  7. danajoward says:

    Congratulations on your Sun Shine Award! 🙂

Leave a Reply

