Autumn and its Dreamy Reflections

14 November 2012

Lens:

1. Autumn Reflections, NIkon DSLR, October 2012;

1. Autumn Reflections at Bellevue Park, Nikon DSLR, October 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Autumn Reflections, Nikon DSLR, October 2012;

2. Autumn Reflections at Bellevue Park, Nikon DSLR, October 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

3. Autumn Reflections, Nikon DSLR; October 2012;

3. Autumn Reflections at Bellevue Park, Nikon DSLR; October 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

4. Autumn Reflections, iPhone 4s, October 2012;

4. Autumn Reflections at White Clay Creek, iPhone 4s, October 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which is your favorite and why.

Pens:

While each of the four seasons has its unique legacies, autumn seems to provide dreamy reflections. The switch to temperate weather and colored landscapes produces memories of substance and weight. It’s as though Mother Nature planned a punch or two before the gray, somber, yes, freezing days of winter.

This particular motion where we travel through seasonal rhythms (autumn in particular) prompts not only exterior changes and mind wandering, but also interior reflections that evoke the deeper kind. Usually, I find myself pitched for introspection.

As the weather vacillates from comfortable to downright chilling, I am led to sway between the soulful inside of me to spirited outward glances. There is always a pull to watch the metamorphosis in the landscape–no matter what its offerings.

Suddenly something momentous pushed its way into my life. I had one of those uniquely memorable days last week–Wednesday to be exact.

Every living thing seemed destined for the greater good. Minutes and hours brought joy, and I tried to assimilate the experience with a reverence for the converging forces.

My waking hours were stocked with serendipity and wonderment. You know that space where all seems to flow in the right direction towards harmony. The place where there are no log jams, and the day sprinkles here and there with angles of precision.

Of course, there was this huge exhale, the election was behind us. My candidate (and candidates) won. My country is posed to build anew its own center. That brings reflection of a different sort.

There is no way to predict the agency of such (seeming) near perfection in one’s day. But as the goodness layered itself, I promised to let it soothe me. We all deserve such experiences.

The flip happens during times when clues are tossed and say, “stay at home, hide under the covers and wait it out; it will pass.” Or I’ll encourage myself with the “just do it” mainstay of Nike.

And so a reflection from a creek or mirror or the soul can remind me that it’s important not to second guess each day’s meaning: what is, what will be, what can be. The lesson of that glorious day is enjoyment and fulfillment, allowing divergent forces to shower over me the unexpected.

Sometimes this serendipity becomes the day’s exuberance. Sometimes each corner turned becomes a new star that can be tossed into the moment’s skyline.

That day served continuous morsels of dark, creamy and richly cultivated French chocolate: the kind of autumn day that satisfies  your dreams with breathtaking steady velocity.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Human Nature, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Autumn and its Dreamy Reflections

  1. RobynG says:

    I love reflections and you capture them so very well!

  2. Reflections that shares a beauty and magic we all hope for. A wonderful dream I hope to wake up to everyday. Thanks

  3. Shutterbug Sage says:

    The first one. Wow! Amazing colors and a clear reflection.

  4. rrosen1 says:

    Reblogged this on Appleledge II and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  5. rrosen1 says:

    Sally
    When I opened my email that top photo really popped. After looking at the others I still come back to the first.

  6. Eri Berry says:

    Wow. Great photos. I like the first for its intense colors. I love green but that color and texture seem different from I what see in the usual tropical forest. I also like the last one for the texture. Sleek mirror-like water reflecting sun and rough soil. Great contrast.

  7. Nancy Gray says:

    My favorite is number 4. As a vertical photo, it matches the flow of the stream and flows on and on.

  8. niki says:

    Love the reflections Sally and the colors! Stunning!

  9. EvaUhu says:

    the first two are my favourites – which is kind of funny, since they are quite different from each other – and I can relate quite well to what you’re talking about in “pens”. good job 🙂

  10. I know that “place” you are referring too. The world is breathtaking at the moment. Tis my favorite time of the year… Fall. There is nothing more magnificent than watching the seasons change. I’m cold however! Gorgeous photos. I especially love the first one!!

  11. marialla says:

    ABSOLUTELY STUNNING PICTURES AND YES A PATH INTO THE INTROSPECTIVE SELF. I, MYSELF. HAVE BEEN VISITING THAT PLACE OF LATE. IT IS REALLY QUITE REVEALING ONCE ONE LETS ONESELF SINK INTO THE TOTAL INTROSPECTION SPOT. IT IS A GOOD PLACE TO BE – THAT IS FOR SURE. THANK YOU FOR BRINGING UP THE POINT SO POIGNANTLY!!!!

  12. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    Wonderful pictures. Autumn brings real change to nature to redesign itself. jalal michael

  13. Northern Narratives says:

    The first photo is just perfect for the beauty of autumn.

  14. Tara says:

    Love that first one–the reflections in the water look longer than the actual trees, so it almost looks like they are in motion.

  15. Nico says:

    OK, the first one is breathtaking, but the second one is amazing. Dreamy reflections indeed! A black and white impressionist painting. And your “pens” was inspiring. Thank you Sally

  16. Gracie says:

    That first image is just breath-taking, Sally! I love that reflection on the crystal clear water. The colors are so brilliant.

  17. I like the first photograph. It seems full of life and does not dampen my mood. The others are more on the artistic side. I prefer what appears real. The other ones are very good though. It is just my personal opinion.

  18. I like the third one the best because it is somewhat abstract and has some great lines and movement.

  19. I like the first picture, bursting with color and rich in contrast. NICE JOB!!!!

  20. The first photo is my favorite because of how the water turned the reflection painterly.

Leave a Reply

