WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

16 November 2012

Lens:

1. Trees in White Clay State Park, Nikon DSLR, October 2012;

1. Trees in White Clay State Park, Nikon DSLR, October 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Reservoir, Nikon DSLR, September 2012;

2. Reservoir, Nikon DSLR, September 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

3. Handle, Nikon DSLR, August 2012;

3. Handle, Nikon DSLR, August 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

4. Fountain, iPhone 4s, August 2012;

4. Fountain, iPhone 4s, August 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which is your favorite and why.

Pens:

There are a myriad of shades of green: chartreuse, lime, jade, emerald, celadon, teal, olive, mint… Or apple green, neon green, forest green, fern green… Of course, a primary color has solid feet planted in the lexicon. And green’s fame keeps growing, because this color continues to redefine itself in the popular culture.

When I saw that it was the theme for the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge, my photographs with large swaths of verdant areas were green with envy–casting themselves as worthy entries. I had to intervene.

Green’s usage throughout today’s evergreen language could take up miles of space, but suffice it to mention  a few from the past and present: the Green Party, fried green tomatoes, green technology, green tea, green gardening…And remember Kermit the Frog’s byline: “it’s not easy being green.” So the interpretation for this week’s challenge can be wide and broad.

Photographs can include: soft greens, bright greens, camouflage greens, raging greens. Think: nature and Mother Nature. Green helps to make the color wheel spin round and round throughout days, nights and our dreams.

My entries are more traditional, but each has its own tonal quality that re-imagines the visual landscape of the color. Green is a distant runner with marvelous twenty-first century connotation. As a descriptor it easily stakes its place in the annuals of the history of color.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Human Nature, Photography, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

  1. eof737 says:

    Gorgeous green! 🙂

  2. Deborah - d.mooncrab says:

    I love your entry and all of your exquisite photos. My favorite is the last picture. I just like water droplets when they sparkle in the light like that.

  3. starscraper99 says:

    Hi! I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

    http://thebatamonblog.wordpress.com/2012/11/22/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  4. Gracie says:

    I really like the handle photo, Sally, not just for the color, but for the details and the textures you captured.

  5. Beautiful and playful greens. Love the reflection of the reservoir and the 3D water bubbles with your iPhone 4s. Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. My favorite . . . Fountain! I have long been interested in water in slow motion or water – paused! So what a great shot. Thanks for sharing.

  7. marialla says:

    VERY BEAUTIFUL PICTURE -TREES AND WATER THE BEST AND SO MAGICAL!!! THANK YOU!!

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green… | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community

  9. Shutterbug Sage says:

    These are all awesome! While I can’t articulate why very well, my favorite is the first one. I think I love the various shades of green together and how the light falls on them.

  10. EvaUhu says:

    I prefer no 02, the reservoir, its impressionist quality is quite fetching and it leaves room for thought what’s actually portrayed.

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « mtlawleyshire

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Новичок в фотографии

  13. I like the handle for my taste because the color of that photo is the most natural. Of course, all of them are so nice.

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green… | Mirth and Motivation

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « All that I am, all that I ever was…

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green | Tasagi Designs

  17. I like the Handle and the reservoir best. The Handle has so many interesting shades of green but I like the composition of the reservoir a little better. All are terrific!

  18. All good but like no 3 best as it makes you wonder what it is once you have appreciated the shapes and tones of green.

  19. I LOVE reservoir- the mood and flow- very impressionist

Leave a Reply

