WordPress Special Photo Challenge: Inspiration

23 November 2012

Lens:

1. Alessi Store, Nikon DSLR, June 2012;

1. Alessi Store, Nikon DSLR, San Francisco, June 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

2. Alessi Store, Nikon DSLR, June 2012;

2. Alessi Store, Nikon DSLR, San Francisco, June 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which one you prefer and why.

Pens:

When WordPress’ Special Photo Challenge appeared this week, I was struck by the chance to talk about the “muses” that inspire my photography and writing. It’s impossible to separate the two.

As I pondered the challenge, I imagined a large universe bubbling with inspiration. For me the intersection of nature and human nature pushes my passions.

For example, I spend much time photographing my grandchildren in nature, visiting the same scenes to shoot sunsets, searching to discover traditional and contemporary architecture, lovingly visiting horticultural centers to see the latest displays, and reading, reading, reading.

Inspiration is everywhere, and yet it is specific to my individual lens. Often artists’ works open my own creativity to see in a new way. Often the seemingly mundane also can stimulate new ideas. Often a pause at the creek can boost my next framing of a photograph. Those combinations of design elements provide a spectrum of extraordinary and ordinary insights into human innovation and nature’s majesty: inspiration indeed.

In the Lens section is a photograph of my reflection at the Alessi store (click here to visit their site) in San Francisco. To step into the world of fabulous Italian design sensibility is to pierce the senses with curious joy. Each turn provides a burst of possibility for each object to surprise and shock. There creations are light-hearted and serious all at once.

Alessi designs have been part of the Italian popular culture since inception in the 1930s. Their influence has grown steadily and can be found throughout the world.

2. Alessi, Teapot, Google Images

1. Alessi, Teapot, Google Images

3. Alessi, Mr.ChinTimer, Google Images

2. Alessi, Timer, Google Images

3. Alessi, Bowl, Google Images

3. Alessi, Bowl, Google Images

Light reflections, sculpted metals, embellished surfaces, positive and negative spaces, woven materials, and colors abound. These functional objects are art in their most inviting form. There are objects for the table, for the floor (think: cat and dog), for children–well for most occasions.

This almost eighty-year-old company easily pumps adrenaline into my creative juices.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Human Nature, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to WordPress Special Photo Challenge: Inspiration

  1. Val says:

    I like both photos and it’s interesting to me that I react to them differently and in terms of associations. The upper one is reminiscent of art deco designs – my grandmother had an art deco clock that had a greenish mirror as a backing, it reminds me of that. The lower one is very ‘opal’ in feel.

  2. marialla says:

    I LIKE THE FIRST ONE, BECAUSE IT FEELS SOFT, LOOKS SORT OF LIKE BLACK AND WHITE WITH A SPOT OF RED. BUT IN GENERAL IT IS WITHOUT THE STARKNESS.SOMETIMES BLACK AND WHITE DOES NOT SEEM STARK. SO MAYBE IT IS JUST THIS PARTICULAR SUBJECT MATTER!! THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT WORK!!

  3. I appreciate your original phrase “the intersection of nature and human nature,” and of course the intersection itself, where as a photographer in the out-of-doors I spend a lot of time. Our blogs provide us an easy way to bring the outdoors indoors.

    • Thank you, and yes, our life in cyberspace does allow for others to discover what they might otherwise be unable to enjoy up close and personal. While I am able to savor flora and fauna here on the East Coast, I’m also able to avail myself of your selections in Austin. How lucky am I.

  4. patriciamoed says:

    I like the color photo too. The green is subtle, but interesting.

  5. eof737 says:

    I like the first shot as it shows the contrasting colors very nicely. 😉

  6. I like the coloured version because of the subtlety of that pale shade of green. The framing works so well too.

  7. arsomnia says:

    Hello, I like the first photo. The Alessi’s design is very winsome on a worldwide scale

  8. Tina Schell says:

    I enjoyed your creative response – and prefer the first photo 🙂

  9. The first photo in color has more clarity in my humble opinion. I like that one very much..

Leave a Reply

