WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

30 November 2012

Lens:

1. Reflections, iPhone 4s, November 2012;

1. Reflections, iPhone 4s, November 2012; Copyright 2012 Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Reflections, iPhone 4s, November 2012;

2. Reflections, iPhone 4s, November 2012; Copyright 2012 Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally

Let me know which is your favorite and why.

Pens:

On my daily walks I pause on the same bridge to spy on the creek that runs through my travels. This vantage point gives two different scenes that lend to my photographic leanings. I am swayed my reflections, daily meanderings of the water’s flow, and the continual alteration of the landscape.

While there are times that the view is worthy of my starring, other times the confluence of nature’s hand is not as inviting. But there is always a spontaneity of memory that survives.

WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge gives me the opportunity to post two of this week’s high points. The sun cast its radiance upon autumn’s bare trees and the result speaks for itself.

In the Lens section are two variations from that mid-day walk. The first is the close up, where details are more evident. The second is the longer shot, and winds from the bridge’s edge toward the distant woods.

Often Mother Nature’s reflections spur my inner reflections; each influencing the other. These images are clearly the inner workings of the creek’s soldiers. Trees are shed of their coverings, and remind me of how we do the same–shed our emotions and point of view.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

  1. eof737 says:

    Now those are unbelievably cool shots… upside down too! finally catching up. 🙂

  2. How you captured these reflections with your iPhone is just amazing. Magical moment captured forever. Beautiful!

  3. Pingback: WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections « Best WordPress Theme

  4. AniShah says:

    Gorgeous photos! I love reflections, which reminds me I must get a pic post up soon!

  5. aj vosse says:

    Good ones… reminds a bit of some of the images I chase… 😉

  6. Wonderful reflections- really pretty in both photos. You have a lovely place to walk.

  7. marialla says:

    STUNNING – ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!!! CAN’T TELL YOU WHICH ONE IS BETTER!! OR MORE BEAUTIFUL!!! THANK YOU!!!

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Mike Hardisty Photography

  9. arsomnia says:

    Hi, Sally. I like the second .. but the first too 🙂 Maybe I like reflections, there is a little magic.
    For you: (http://www.flickr.com/photos/trasparenzevive/6703131055/in/photostream)

  10. munchow says:

    Two great shots, Sally. As Roy says, they both have an impressionistic quality to them. I really like the play between reflections and the substance itself in the photograph – the rippled water. My favourite is the second, for it’s more abstract expression and a somewhat less usual perspective thanks to the skewed horizon.

  11. nuvofelt says:

    Beautiful reflections.

  12. Gracie says:

    Very nice, Sally. I like the second photo, I like how it was composed and the subtle sun flare at the top right corner which adds some rainbow-like colors to the image.

  13. Very nice photo. I like the second best 🙂

  14. Roy Robinson says:

    Like them both, but the top one has a great impressionistic quality because of the unusual light and the subtle movement of the water.

Leave a Reply

