WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

01 February 2013

Lens:

1. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

4. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

4. Plastic Slinky, iPhone 4s, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which is your favorite and why.

Pens:

Most adults that I know would easily recognize the slinky: the toy that spikes children’s adrenalin and provides hours of entertainment. My treasure trove of memories usually rewinds to the original metal ones that formed bouncy and sometimes even chaotic movements, cascading down stairs or wherever. The game was to push its funky actions, which always brought laughter and smiles. When WordPress announced its Weekly Photo Challenge is unique, immediately I knew which images I would post.

Last week on a frigid winter’s day I was searching the house for an object to use on a photo shoot. When my grandchildren were small, I bought a few slinkys. I spied those toys on the edge of a shelf that houses mementos from their childhood. But these copies came in shapes of green, and are made from the so-called wonder material, plastic.

Slinky, Google Images

Original Slinky, Google Images

In the Lens section are four photographs. I post them as my entries, because I wanted to disassociate the image taken with the real object, giving unique perspective to this familiar everyday children’s toy. Click here to see an original 1960s advertisement for this invention that mesmerizes regardless of one’s age.

Note: As usual I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Human Nature, Photography, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

  1. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    Stupendous picture.Thank you so much for liking my poem ( Treacherous Surmise) Best regards.jalal

  2. fgassette says:

    WOW! Very creative shots and beautiful color.

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Fantastic shots – on an iPhone. . . Wow

  4. Fossillady says:

    I like them all, but if I had to choose, the tunnel effect on the fourth one evokes the most emotion of the unknown! Very cool images! Kathi

  5. Unique and amazing. the pattern and flow are spectacular!

  6. Jeff Sinon says:

    I would have to say the second to last is my favorite. There’s something about the composition that draws me into it. It’s a shame what Slinky’s have become, the newer plastic ones don’t work anywhere near as well as the metal ones I had as a kid.

  7. marialla says:

    AWESOME STUFF!! WHO WAS TO KNOW THAT THE SLINKY COULD MAKE SUCH A GREAT SUBJECT – OF COURSE YOU NEED A GOOD EYE TO PULL OUT THAT GREAT STUFF!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

  8. Well spotted – an original set of pics. Great fun.

  9. Jo says:

    I love them all, I really like how you have lit them. Did you use a light box to shoot these?

  10. munchow says:

    This is a fun take on something very mundane and what one might think would be a boring subject. I am amazed how you were able to turn this slinky into art. My favourite is the second photo, which makes me feel I am inside some strange world.

  11. Cee Neuner says:

    The 2nd one is my favorite.

  12. HansHB says:

    Lovely composition!

  13. Tina Schell says:

    Great post Sally! Never would have thought of it–the photos are terrific!

  14. Follygirl says:

    What a great idea!

  15. Northern Narratives says:

    I like all the photos. The slinky sure brings back the memories. We would try so hard to make it walk down the steps, just like on TV, but it wasn’t a perfect walker on our steps 🙂

  16. Pingback: Unique – A WP Photo Challenge! | Life in the Foothills

  17. Ancientfoods says:

    I like number 2! It reminds me of some mythical sifi plant from space gone wild! Love it.
    I followed the link to the commercial, that brings back memories.

  18. JesstheMess says:

    Great photos. I liked the top one best. I thought it was a plant at the start. A great unique perspective and inspiration for my own take on unique.

  19. Robin says:

    Very nice – each unique, and so difficult to pick a favourite

  20. If you hadn’t said it was a slinky I would have thought it was a telephone cord 🙂

  21. I didn’t have a clue that your were photographing a slinky until you said so! The photos looked surreal and almost sexy in a Georgia O’Keefe sort of way. The first one is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

