WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

08 February 2013

Lens:

1. Moss on Tree Trunk, Nikon DSLR, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Moss on Tree Trunk, Red Clay Creek, Nikon DSLR, January 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Red Shouldered Hawk, Nikon DSLR, December 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Red Shouldered Hawk, Nikon DSLR, December 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

The word home can sway every emotion, giving us reason to be joyful and tear-filled. But it also can change its meaning from one day to the next, one relationship to the next, one life event to the next. WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is home, which gives us many opportunities to showcase a variety of interpretations. This word easily conjures the language of the soul and the visual.

In the Lens section I have selected two images for my entries. The first was taken at a local preserve, where green moss has made itself at home on a tree trunk that hugs the shoreline. It’s evident that if all goes well, this living force will be sustained by its host for a very long time.

In the second image is a red-shouldered hawk that recently has made my backyard its day-time residence. It has no qualms about being front and center, swooping from tree to tree and even staging its presence in my garden. This spot where it is perched is very close to my birding station and pond. Squirrels continue their feeding, and the hawk is not interested in them. I am in awe of this creature that has chosen to reside throughout my property. Fortunately my cadre of birds have survived. Hopefully, I have less of a mice population.

Regardless, I am thrilled to have this youngster graze daily through and around my gardens. Its siblings roam nearby in the woods across the street. But I have been transformed by this one’s willingness to be a part-time squatter.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog. Two other photographers and I began an iPhoneography Challenge this month. To learn about it, click here. Please join us for this mobile arts photo challenge.

This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

  1. Fossillady says:

    Love the moss on tree trunk!!!!

  2. Love the moss on the tree. Reminds me of an enchanting place where everything is wonderful and happy. The hawk seems to be in deep thought. Beautiful images my friend.

  3. Geoff says:

    The first for sure. It speaks of transitions … of living in two worlds … of life and decay … the green moss mimicking the branching roots provides a bridge between the two. The second one’s just a bird pic by comparison 🙂

  4. I especially love the hawk; I have seen them circling overhead but never so up close and personal!

  5. munchow says:

    Both pictures have some intense colours. The are both great, but my favourite is the first, I really like its complexity. I also like how you interpreted this week’s theme in both photographs. Very nice work.

  6. Gallivanta says:

    I think I like the Hawk the best because it seems very relaxed and at home. Whilst the moss has made its home on the tree, I don’t perceive the same sense of home as I do with the hawk. I enjoyed your Spotlight post on Northern Narratives.

  7. The broad expanse of green on those roots makes it look like you live in the Pacific Northwest.

    • Today it feels as though I live in the Arctic. Fortunately, Delaware did not get the snowstorm that rocked New England. We were on the edge of it, and not even a flurry. But today the temps dropped and winds are fierce. Spring is nearing and even the groundhog agrees. Thanks.

  8. Pingback: WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Fabulous 50's

  9. Northern Narratives says:

    You are so lucky to have a hawk to watch. I hope we see it again on your blog.

    • Truly, I was astounded to be able to grab my camera, slowly open the door, and take a shot before it detected my appearance. I feel blessed. I hope that I can share more of its presence. Usually, it’s perched on one of the trees. Thanks.

      • Northern Narratives says:

        I hope you didn’t miss that I posted your blog in the Spotlight 🙂

      • Yes, I am appreciative and delighted. I’ve been checking and discovering blogs from those that responded. It’s a terrific idea that you’ve incorporated into your site. I’m grateful, and hoped that you knew that my from
        e-mail. See you soon.

  10. rtd14 says:

    The photo with the Red Shoulder Hawk is especially beautiful. The brown, white and red colors of its wings match the red and brown leaves behind the snow.

    • Rebecca, lovely to hear from you and thanks–it was magical to be able to capture it still and watchful.

      • rtd14 says:

        I try to keep up. I still love to read your posts and look at your beautiful pictures. I had to cut back on how much I was writing on my blog and even reading due to work, my son and massive amounts of editing. I try to keep up with my favorites, like your blog, as much as possible! ~ Becca

      • Each phase of our lives does have a way of steering the path we take. These experiences, which you are having, will build layers for your writing. I’m delighted to have you visit whenever you can. Thanks.

  11. patriciamoed says:

    I like how you interpreted this theme through (Mother) Nature…

Leave a Reply

