iPhoneography Monday Challenge: Macro (and Have iPhone, Will Travel with iCloud)

11 February 2013

Lens:

1. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), Nikon DSLR, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), iPhone 4s, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), Nikon DSLR, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), iPhone 4s, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), iPhone 4s, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), iPhone 4s, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

4. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), iPhone 4s, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

4. Cymbidium Orchid (Mixed Cultivar), iPhone 4s, Longwood Gardens, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

Last week Gracie (http://graciebinoya.com), Polly (http://watchingthephotoreels.com) and I began an iPhoneography Monday Challenge. If you’d like to join the fun, please click here for details. As I was contemplating my annual photo field trip to see Longwood Gardens’ Annual Orchid Extravaganza, the idea of close-ups of orchids fit neatly into this week’s macro challenge.

In the Lens section are my entries. In the main room of the Gardens’ Conservatory  cymbidium orchids were planted in long luscious free-standing planters with the fountain as their backdrop. It made for delicious photo shooting. The pinks of the flower against the water’s surface and black bottom of the fountain spurred me with sweet enthusiasm.

Soon I will post additional images taken with my iPhone and Nikon DSLR from the photo field trip. The yearly event never disappoints, each one secures its place as unique and transforms the interior of the entire Conservatory into orchid heaven.

When I arrived home, one of my favorite aspects of the “iPhone as camera” was waiting for me. With Apple’s miracle technology, iCloud, sent my images directly to my iMac and iPad. Hooray, no waiting for me to upload. They were seamlessly sent through the wireless network.

I know that the “cloud” is part of twenty-first century technology. It’s even in our daily vernacular. Still, I am dazed by its abilities and its future. Further, I cannot imagine its effects on our lives yet to come.

Cloud Computing and its Part, Google Images

Cloud Computing and its Part, Google Images

iCloud Logo, Google Images

iCloud Logo, Google Images

While iCloud is synonymous with storage, I am fascinated by its auto syncing to all my devices through Photo Stream. Within minutes my new photographs are secure in  iPhoto’s camera roll. It’s deliciously smooth.

But that’s not all. When I do upload from my Nikon DSLR, iCloud also takes those images and places them in Photo Stream

Back to storage. iCloud keeps photographs in the “technology” sky for 30 days. You can store up to 5GB of other kinds of data and stuff, photographs are not counted in that limit. If you need more GBs it’s relatively inexpensive to get more space. If you do not have a MAC, set up is available for your PC. It’s worth it. Check Apple’s site for additional details about iCloud. Click here.

I’m obsessive about archiving my photographs. Since iCloud is a short-lived storage unit, I have an external hard drive and also back-up everything on flash drives. One can never be too careful in cyberspace, especially with images.

Happy macro day, and please join our challenge.

Check out these entries:

http://watchingthephotoreels.com

http://carolloethen.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/iphoneography-monday

http://ayearinmyshoes.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/iphonography-monday-challenge-macro

http://carolloethen.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/iphoneography-monday-2-macro

http://graciebinoya.com/2013/02/11/iphoneography-monday-macro/

http://triciabookerphotography.com/2013/02/11/iphone-challenge-macro/

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Mobile Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to iPhoneography Monday Challenge: Macro (and Have iPhone, Will Travel with iCloud)

  1. Tina Schell says:

    Loved Longwood Gardens when I lived up there – great shots! Please tell me you didn’t take these with an iphone?????? If yes, a 5??

    • Yes, they were taken with my iPhone 4s. I always label my photographs with the camera that I use. As you know, these were taken for the iPhoneography, and the 4s did the job. I agree that it is amazing what these small technological innovations can accomplish. Thanks.

  2. fgassette says:

    I like the second one the best because of the angle, the color and how the light reflects off the petals. I have tried to photograph orchids in a greenhouse but always had trouble with the light. Yours are beautiful.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. marialla says:

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE BEAUTIFUL PICTURES. ORCHIDS ARE TRULY SUCH BEAUTIES. I LIKE ESPECIALLY THE FIRST AND LAST ONE WITH A BIT WATER BACKGROUND. GREAT WORK!!!

  4. Stunning. It feels so close that I can almost touch them.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    I think I like the second photo the best because of the intensity of colour in the orchids. The visit to Orchid Extravaganza must have been so wonderful. Pleased to read your words on iCloud and how you store and save photos.

    • Longwood Gardens is a local and national treasure. For their special events the parking lot is filled with license plates from scores of states. The Orchid Extravaganza is one of their prized horticultural programs. Thanks.

      • Gallivanta says:

        Yes, I was pleased when I saw your photos were from Longwood Gardens. I had an elderly friend who would visit there (from Croton, New York, ) almost every year and she would send me a letter or card after each visit. She passed away a couple of years ago. They were her favourite gardens.

      • Their gardens are sumptuous and each visit seems as though it’s the first. I’ll be posting more photographs from the orchid show, probably Thursday. Many thanks.

  6. The colors are lovely on all of them, but I also prefer the second shot. It’s serene and the composition is so balanced. Thank you for hosting the challenge!

  7. Pingback: iPhoneography Monday: Macro « Frames & Focus

  8. Heidi says:

    I’m digging the second shot. I like symmetry and really like how you framed it.

  9. Pingback: iPhonography Monday: Macro | Savvy Design

  10. Gracie says:

    These photos are excellent, Sally. Love the colors on each of these.
    Since we’re doing a link up, here’s mine: http://graciebinoya.com/2013/02/11/iphoneography-monday-macro/

  11. carolloethen says:

    I love the first pic the best. The contrast between the pinks of the flower and the dark in the water.
    I haven’t tried the Icloud but you have sparked my interest to check it out.
    Here is mine:
    http://carolloethen.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/iphoneography-monday-2-macro/

  12. Happy macro day to you too! Beautiful images! My favorite is the very last one. Gorgeous composition. Great work 🙂 I haven’t played around with iCloud except with music. I will have to try it with photos! 🙂

  13. scillagrace says:

    I like the second shot best; the clean, black background sets off the form & color of those petals the best. They truly become the focus.

Leave a Reply

