Wordless Wednesday (Almost)

20 February 2013

Lens:

Flame Experiment,  Nikon DSLR, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Experimentation: Flame, Nikon DSLR, February 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Pens:

When I discovered Wordless Wednesday, the notion that my blog, which focuses on lens and pens, would occasionally go wordless was not necessarily a conflict. For me, photography has always been about its visual language. So here I am with my first submission, and (yes), still creating words.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Wordless Wednesday (Almost)

  1. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: Seasons

  2. Geoff says:

    How much longer did you hold it? How far did you go to get the shot? Enquiring minds want to know 🙂

    • Actually, I was against a pillar for support, and shooting at a few different angels. I did not have my long lens, but the one I had goes to 105 mm. Did not have my tripod. Lighting was just right. Thanks.

  3. marialla says:

    IT IS HARD TO BE WORDLESS, ISN’T IT!! THANK YOU FOR THE VERY INTERESTING PHOTO!!!

  4. Gracie says:

    Wonderful image for Wordless Wednesday, Sally.
    I was thinking about joining this challenge too. Should be fun.

  5. Roslyn says:

    I am a quilter & I like to quilt flames!

  6. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: February 20, 2013 | small house/BIG GARDEN

  7. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – Soon | ~ Morning Tempest Studios ~

  8. Jo says:

    I love this photograph. Really clever.

  9. Jo says:

    I’m glad to see your addition to Wordless Wednesday, which I also try to participate in. This is an interesting photo — and impressive.

  10. Mystery Case says:

    I’m hopeless at wordless Wednesday. I think I may need to reword it to ‘almost wordless Wednesday’. x

  11. scillagrace says:

    I want to get better at low key photography…I love a stark, black background.

  12. Hmmm… what is Wordless Wednesday? A blog post without words (pictures, art, etc….) Sounds interesting. Where did you find info on this?

  13. I love the tension in this photo… It’s still but as the viewer, I can feel the movement and heat of the flame. Probably because the rest of the image is dark and both the hand and flame are pulling my eye in. I feel tension because I feel like the hand is about to burn! It’s a beautiful and somewhat eerie photo 🙂 great post!

Leave a Reply

