Thanks for the “Illuminating Blog Award”

08 March 2013

Lens:

1. The Essence of the Tree, Nikon DSLR, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. The Essence of the Tree, Nikon DSLR, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. The Essence of the Tree, Nikon DSLR, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. The Essence of the Tree, Nikon DSLR, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. The Essence of the Tree, Nikon DSLR, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. The Essence of the Tree, Nikon DSLR, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

Honestly, for at least two years I’ve been longing to record the majesty of the tree in the Lens section. It sits snug against a well-traveled road, which has no safe place to park. Once every two months or more I see this giant statuesque-like elder statesman with its girth spread with pride. As fortune would cast upon me, this week I found a secure space to leave my car. But the pristine sky was an additional factor that allowed me to honor this tree’s presence.

Certainly, the tree shows its best side in the winter months, holding its rapture with poise and even tender in its height of at least eighty feet. Otherwise in full foliage it’s just another long-lasting tribute to nature gracefully aging.

Bare, bountiful, broad, boisterously bold, it called me to stand beneath its outstretched limbs. Even as I took many views, I knew that its splendor would be hard to cast. It’s so mammoth that a far away image doesn’t suit, up close is best–best to portray its positive and negative spaces, its curves and twists.

I’m dedicating the splendor of this tree’s elegance to Rebecca at http://rebeccatdickinson.com/ This week she nominated me for the Illuminating Blog Award.

These moments of recognition stop time; they shore this blogging experience; they point to a huge reason that I participate in this endeavor: the community of people who I meet and would under no other circumstance cross their paths.

Illuminating Blogger Award

Rebecca describes herself on the blog, A Word or More: “I am a writer, mother and teacher who believes writing and books enhances every person’s life. The knowledge of language and how to write gives every child a greater future. I still believe in picking up a book off a shelf and writing a cursive sentence now and then. Most of all, I believe if you hold any dream of becoming an author, the choice to embrace the dream begins with you.” Please stop by her site and read her work.

Here are my nominees for the Illuminating Blog Award: and in no particular order. I know that each blogger has an opinion about the receipt of such a gift. I leave it to my nominees to accept or be silent. Please click onto each site and be enriched by their work.

Tina at Travels and Trifles at http://travelsandtrifles.wordpress.com

Gracie at http://framesandfocus.net/blog

Polly at http://watchingthephotoreels.com

JJ at http://junsjazzimages.wordpress.com

Otto at https://munchow.wordpress.com

Cindy at http://cindyknoke.com

Scilla at http://scillagrace.com

My feeling about these awards are straight forward. First, they acknowledge my work, and (as I said) are given by someone within my online community. Each brings me a momentary euphoria. Second, I have the opportunity to place seven bloggers of my choice into the limelight. They are honored, and can upload the award’s badge on their site, which remains a sign of the support from a follow blogger. These gestures are part of the larger purpose of this blogging life: connections and interconnections between people of similar and different passions.

Once again my thanks to Rebecca–across the wide and long bridge that is cyberspace, she has brought a tender moment that weaves our lives together.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Thanks for the “Illuminating Blog Award”

  1. Congratulations my friend. Your blog does shine and illuminate in the most brilliant and inspiring way. Beautiful images ….

  2. marialla says:

    WHOA!!! WHOA!!! WHOA!!! FRIENDS STAND IN THEIR GLORY!! THANK YOU FOR THE BEAUTIFUL PICTURES!!!

  3. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    Stunning pictures, l liked all of them. jalal

  4. Fossillady says:

    Congrats on the blog congregation award . . . good for you. I like the b&w version of the majestic tree that called you to it and your intuition obeyed! Loved your description of the bold and beautiful presence it bestows! Hugs, Kathi

  5. Congratulations on yet another well-deserved award! the way you take photographs and present them remain unique and inspiring.
    I’m really attracted to the black and white tree this time, for no other particular reason that my heart beat faster seing it. there’s something in the b&w that always is smooth to the eye, and even so when the subject is such a beautiful thing as a tree.
    Thanks for sharing.

  6. patriciamoed says:

    Hi Sally.
    My favorite is #3, because the viewer is at the base of the tree and your eye travels up the trunk. We can sense its majesty and beauty from that angle.

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Congratulations. I think my favourite is the black and white photograph because it concentrates my eye on the tree. In the other photo, I keep wanting to look at the blue, blue sky.

  8. Tina Schell says:

    Lovely post Sally – I’m a big fan of the B&W image at the top. Very striking. And thanks so much for the Illuminating Blogger Nomination – I am pleased and honored by your lovely compliment and will post about it very soon. Meanwhile I have added the widget to my blog with pride 🙂 Great to “know” you !

  9. All are great . . . but #1 really brings it home. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Jamie Dedes says:

    Lovely, especially the black and white. Congrats on the award and the selection of awardees. Here from Scalla’s place.

    Happy day …

  11. Suzanne says:

    No. 1. The black and white shows the form of the tree so beautifully.

  12. rtd14 says:

    Thank you Sally for your kind and gracious words and for sharing about me! Your blog is wonderful, and deserves much recognition! I like the first and second pictures because each one gives you a different perspective of life. The first photo makes me think of a darker, mysterious day while the second photo forecasts a dawning of hope and aspiration. ~ Rebecca

  13. Ancientfoods says:

    I like number 1. Then again they’re all fantastic but I’m partial to black and white.

  14. Congratulations on the well-deserved award! The black-and-white image really caught my eye for it’s starkness, and my eye naturally travels right up the trunk and into the branches. Lovely!

  15. In #1, I like the way the many small and dense branches at the top act as a frame.

  16. Gracie says:

    I love these photos, Sally, especially the black and white version. It does look so poised and steadfast, even without its foliage.
    Thank you for the nomination. I truly appreciate the recognition and I am just as glad to have met such a wonderful blogger like you 🙂

Leave a Reply

