Wordless Wednesday (Almost #5: Spring, Spring, Spring is Here)

20 March 2013

Lens:

1. Purple hellebore (Helleborus purpurascens) , iPhone 4s, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Purple hellebore (Helleborus purpurascens) , iPhone 4s, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Purple hellebore (Helleborus purpurascens) , iPhone 4s, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Purple hellebore (Helleborus purpurascens) , iPhone 4s, March 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

In the Lens section is my entry for this week’s Wordless Wednesday: two views of the shy but glorious hellebore, which is one of late winter’s first flowers.

The Back Story: When I discovered Wordless Wednesday, the notion that my blog, which focuses on lens and pens, would occasionally go wordless was not necessarily a conflict. For me, photography has always been about its visual language. So here I am with my fifth submission (first was on 19 February 2013), and (yes), still creating words.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Mobile Photography, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Wordless Wednesday (Almost #5: Spring, Spring, Spring is Here)

  1. Pingback: Silly Things for Wordless Wednesday | My digital camera and me

  2. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday | SC Surf Butler

  3. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – Bliss | ~ Morning Tempest Studios ~

  4. Pingback: Wordless{ish} Wednesday - Boiled In Oil - TwentyFiveSeasons | TwentyFiveSeasons

  5. Shutterbug Sage says:

    While I am not sure I can articulate why, my favorite is #1. There is something about the dusting if pollen and the close-up on the pistils or stamen (whichever they are) that makes me think of new life, growth, and spring.

  6. vastlycurious.com says:

    I like them both equally- so dramatic and almost erotic!

  7. Such power in those shots. Rich colours too!

  8. thirdeyemom says:

    I love the intricate detail of the first one! Wish spring was near for us!!!

    • Thank you, even though its the second day of Spring, we had a small quick snow shower this morning and temps are low. We’re all going to be elated with the renewal that this season brings.

  9. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – Welcome Spring! | ~ Morning Tempest Studios ~

  10. I prefer the first picture because of the detail and texture of the structures in the middle of the flower, especially the green ones (are they nectaries?). The other image has become almost abstract, or like a black hole in space.
    But I love all hellebores anyway 🙂
    Keep up the good work!

  11. Gallivanta says:

    They are both beautiful. Which one do you think is most like what the pollinator would see? It’s quite intriguing to think that what attracts our eye to a plant is different to what attracts the insect. The plant has to appeal to different audiences to ensure its survival. Incredibly clever.

    • Hellebore is a fascinating plant. The flowerhead actually hangs so that the inside of the flower does not show. The arrival of insects must work to find the stamens. I think that it’s a way to protect the flower from the cold. Must research it. Thanks.

  12. Marianne says:

    Purple is my favourite colour, so I prefer your second image because it´s just so gloriously ….PURPLE!

    FYI – I don´t have an iPhone – so I had no idea you could take such close, perfect images with a phone!

  13. Gracie says:

    great shots, Sally!

  14. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: March 20, 2013 | small house/BIG GARDEN

  15. phoenixrisesagain says:

    I prefer the first picture because it is lighter but both are beautiful.

  16. igardendaily says:

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!! These are gorgeous photos! You really need to or someone really needs to make prints of these! I absolutely love them! Your photography is amazing. Do you do seminars on photography? iphonephotography? I am a fan!

    • I’m truly touched by your comments. In the future I will provide information for those who might want to purchase prints. Meanwhile you might want to check the iPhoneography Challenge that two other photographers and I recently started. Check my Homepage that lists titles for each post by month. We started the challenge in February, and each Monday is a new theme. In Monday’s post I included information about apps. Many, many thanks.

  17. 1.sooo very beautiful: the flower and the colors.

Leave a Reply

