WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: The World through my Eyes (and Celebrating the First Day of Summer)

21 June 2103

Lens:

1. Siberian Iris, Nikon DSLR, May 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Siberian Iris, Nikon DSLR, May 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Brandywine Creek, Nikon DSLR, June 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Brandywine Creek, Nikon DSLR, June 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Lichens, iPhone 4s, June 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Lichens, iPhone 4s, June 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens: Today on the East Coast, USA, we celebrate the arrival of summer–true summer by the calendar’s footprints. We head to the beach, laze in hammocks, voraciously read, take road trips, picnic on green swaths, binge on highly-spicy blue crabs, recreate outdoors, and tend (and visit) gardens. We are not deterred, except if the humidity climbs, which it too often does. To all my readers embrace SUMMERTIME, and enjoy.

What could be more exemplary of “The World through my Eyes” at this time of year or any time than Mother Nature mastery. I am driven to revel in the architecture of the natural world.

In the Lens section are three photographs that show her splendor. The first is a spring Siberian iris in its normal regal display. The second is the Brandywine Creek in free form during the aftermath of a heavy rain. The color palette renders a rainbow of hues. The last is a cluster of lichens that give the huge tree a ring of color that drew my attention.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Mobile Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: The World through my Eyes (and Celebrating the First Day of Summer)

  1. marialla says:

    How very well you present the wonders of Mother Nature.!!!! Thank you very much!

  2. AnnaLinnehan says:

    They are all beautiful…but I love the Siberian Iris mostly because of it’s vibrant color and the fact that it is one of my favorite colors 🙂

  3. karmami says:

    There are beautiful…but I love the Siberian Iris I guess because of the vibrant colors and lluminescent beauty. but all are indeed gorgeous

  4. thirdeyemom says:

    Incredible Iris! Wow!!! Welcome summer! We have had the most insane weather. Rain and snow in May, constant rain in early June and now two days of flash flooding in the city. Last night we could hardly get home from the restaurant at as the city streets were completely flooded. I have never seen anything like it. Scary.

  5. wisejourney says:

    Iris winds for me hand down every time

  6. Gallivanta says:

    I love the iris but what I find interesting is that if I look very quickly at the lichens they almost echo the pattern of the flowing water in the Creek. Enjoy your summer days.

  7. EricaK says:

    The Brandy wine image calls to mind the cool of the shade, the freshness of the air after Rain, and the lullaby of the water flow. That’s my favorite!

  8. Lichens, without doubt!

  9. The world through your eyes breathes joy and many beautiful possibilities. Have a great Summer as well!

  10. I vote for the Iris- one of my favorite flowers- rich, royal and sensuous!

  11. #2 and #3 are competing for the first place in my heart and eyes! colors, shapes, perspective, all is there to make me fall for them! Thanks for such beauty, Sally!

  12. Tina Schell says:

    Happy summer Sally. I love the brandy wine but the iris is hard to beat 🙂

  13. munchow says:

    Gorgeous pictures, Sally. My favourite is the one of Brandywine Creek. It holds mystery and secrets. Beautiful colours in all the images.

  14. I vote for the iris, too. The blues are glorious and just right for the first day of summer.

    janet

  15. "Occam Blade" says:

    Brandywine Creek. I can almost feel the cool of the shade, the warmth of the sun and the possibility of a perfect cast of a #18 black gnat floating down to the water…

  16. Melanee says:

    Love the vibrancy of the iris. Happy Summer!

  17. blueberriejournal says:

    Definitely prefer the iris. Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

