Good Ol’ Polaroid Days are Here to Stay: Part Two (2-in-1 thank you for the nominations)

28 June 2013

Lens:

1. Trees, Polaroid, May 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Trees, Polaroid, May 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Trees, Polaroid, May 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Trees, Polaroid, May 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Afternoon Sunburst, Polaroid, June 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Afternoon Sunburst, Polaroid, June 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

Today’s post is dedicated to Through the Peacock’s Eye (click here to see Julia’s blog) and Delicate Dandelion (click here to read her blog). Each of whom nominated me for an award (ABC Award and Shine On! Award). When a reader takes the effort and time to select me, the act of recognition enriches my experience as blogger. I am grateful.

My responsibility to my readers is to provide images and words, and the tap on the shoulder for a job well done is invaluable. And so I graciously thank them for their kindness. Please visit them.

In turn I am combining these two nominations into one post. Certainly, there are award-free blogs, and I understand those who choose to decline such accolades. Regardless, I want to recognize the following for their bountiful work in cyberspace. They are listed in no particular order.

Shine On! Award: :

Otto von Munchow at http://munchow.wordpress.com

Mobile Photographer at http://louisefryer.com

Tina at http://travelsandtrifles.wordpress.com

Tricia at http://triciabookerphotography.com

Island Traveler at http://thismansjourney.net

ABC Award (Awesome Blog Award):

Nicole at http://thirdeyemom.com

Scilla at http://scillagrace.com

Cindy at http://cindyknoke.com/

Gallivanta at http://silkannthreades.wordpress.com

Laurie at http://prideinphotos.com

Again I want to thank Through the Peacock’s Eye and Delicate Dandelion for these unexpected awards. They certainly lift my spirits.

For those of us who spend an inordinate amount of energy observing and documenting the vast visual landscape, our photographic tool box overflows with jewels of old and new technology. The content of my treasure box definitely offers delicious choices.

Do I want to cradle an analog or digital camera? Am I drawn to black-and-white or color?

The beauty of the creative process is its swing from the possible to the actual–the plunge is a meditative experience that examines time and space and its relationship to my own past and present. I’m building layer upon layer of seeing by stripping what’s before me into discrete and larger expansions of my tiny universe.

It’s a relative process of give and take. I give to the moment, and I receive what it returns.

For years I was immersed in the hand-manipulation of Polaroid prints. I loved the entirety of the innovation. My cache of SX-70 cameras allowed me much pleasure. Today only one works, and that’s enough to move through step-by-step procedure that produces an instant (well almost) print.

Polaroid Sx-70, Google Images

Polaroid SX-70, Google Images

I’ve written several posts about my dive into the Polaroid phenomenon. Click here and here and here to read them.

My dusted-off SX-70 accompanied my grandson and I on a recent Spring photo shoot. We drove far from our small city through the countryside where we found serendipity and spontaneity joined forces. We stopped to indulge in homemade ice cream. Then walked around the outside of the store where we found a backdrop for shooting.

It was a grayish day, and the muted tones of the prints were perfect for our moods. Each image reminded us of pre-digital days and the absolute joy of black and white.

In the Lens sections are two of the photographs from that outing. The third image was taken more recently. Prior to taking it we popped into the SX-70 a new version of Polaroid’s color film, and enjoyed its improved quality.

My grandson’s images always astonish me. I will share them another time.

I savor these moments with him. As we build memories, we each carve a path through our individual field of vision. This collaborative journey melts my heart.

Collaboration is the key to our blogging community. We build a treasure trove of new cyber pals who each share their passions and talents.

This experience has broaden my own experimentation and discovery. Mostly, I continue to be enriched by all of you.

Note: As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Photography, Polaroid, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Good Ol’ Polaroid Days are Here to Stay: Part Two (2-in-1 thank you for the nominations)

  1. I love all of these – the monochromes are moody and starkly beautiful, and the third photo is vibrant and exciting. I keep looking at the third one and thinking that it has sort of a silkscreen effect.

  2. Miss Lou says:

    I prefer the third out of all, though if I had to choose between the first 2 monochromes, I certainly prefer the 2nd.

    Congratulations *S*

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Polaroid! I have been taken back in time. But so great you were out with your Polaroid recently and enjoying a photo shoot with your grandson. Building precious memories, you surely were. Once again, thank you for the nomination. It’s lovely to be recognised for ‘bountiful’ work.

  4. A beautiful way to celebrate a very inspiring award. Just like “Afternoon Sunburst, ” Your images glows in the most amazing way.

  5. Geoff says:

    Of the two monochromes I prefer number two … not entirely for the photograph (which I like) but for the object itself … the texture of the print and it’s surrounds. I like the rich reds of the sunburst picture too … I imagined the clouds having Mandelbrot aspirations.

  6. scillagrace says:

    Congratulations and thanks, Sally! I think of my dad popping out those burned bulbs from his Polaroid and peeling back the sticky paper….the smell of those components was distinct…wish you could include them as well for a real nostalgic memory!

    • Well, the current film is not a replica of the original. The Impossible Project keeps refining it, and it’s getting closer and closer. Still, I am so drawn to the SX-70 that I am pleased to experiment. Thanks.

  7. munchow says:

    Congratulations with the awards, they are very deserved. You have an excellent and inspiring blog. And then thank you for handing a nomination over to me. I will humbly accept it, and will get back to it in not so long.

  8. Thank you and congratulations!

  9. My heart is palpitating…goodness girlfriend, these Polaroids are real? At first, I thought you did them through your iphone with an app. Oh this is just too cool…but have to confess…makes me a little sad…that all my old cameras are gone. My own fault, my obsession of not to hoard anything…sigh. great great post. thanks so much for the nomination!

  10. Tina Schell says:

    Thanks for the nod Sally and congrats on your well-deserved awards!

Leave a Reply

