WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus (on Street Photography)

23 August 2013

Lens:

1. 30th Street Station, Philadelphia. iPhone 4s, August 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. 30th Street Station, Philadelphia. iPhone 4s, August 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. 30th Street Station, Philadlephia, iPhone 4s, August 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. 30th Street Station, Philadelphia, iPhone 4s, August 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens: WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge fit into my recent experimentation with apps on my iPhone 4s. Originally the image in the Lens section seem to lend itself to the past–a soft patina that characterized it as an “antique.”

My inclination was to take advantage of this quality. The result is photographs that have a vintage effect.

The shot already had an out-of-focus sensibility. The editing simply pushed the blur and brought the passengers more into focus.

If you want to see more street photography, click here to my post from Monday.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Mobile Photography, Photography, Street Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus (on Street Photography)

  1. I really love the way you’ve processed these shots. Excellent job.

  2. The antique effect is brilliant. It made an already awesome picture unforgettable! Have a great weekend.

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Awesome, both of them!

  4. Tina Schell says:

    Sorry, can’t choose one; I love them both! You can just feel the energy.

  5. I like the first one. Which app? I have been using them more too.

  6. KOH  says:

    Wonderful work~ like it

  7. Suzanne says:

    Very effective processing. It seems to visually express that feeling you have in a group when the interaction between the people is more important that what’s going on around you. The background becomes a blur.

  8. I have been right at this spot…so this art just came alive for me. Great job Sally.

  9. munchow says:

    I love the “antique” feeling created by the iPhone. After switching back and forth between the two image, I think I prefer the not blurred one. It brings out more details which I like. The background is not disturbing, anyway.

Leave a Reply

