WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated

27 September 2013

Lens:

1. Entranceway, Longwood Gardens, Nikon DSLR, July 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Entranceway, Longwood Gardens, Nikon DSLR, July 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. The Creek, Nikon DSLR, September 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. The Creek, Nikon DSLR, September 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

Saturation is color purity pushed to its limits. It is the container overly full with glorious brightly stained surfaces.

In the Lens section are moments of saturation. Colors are intense. The mind blazes with hues that burst with joy. On each of these days the light was casting its brilliance, making its landing with more than its usual flare.

When the light show displays such complexity of color, we are drawn to it. We are compelled to study a scene that might not ordinarily catch our eye. The totality of saturation or a part of it simply moves us to stop and consider what is before us.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Design, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated

  1. Indira says:

    I liked both, they are so different from each other but fascinating.

  2. RJ Silva says:

    Yeah, the blue door for sure. Love how it contrasts with the red bricks of the floor. Superbly done!

  3. pattisj says:

    I love the blue doors and bricks. I must be a door fan, because normally a landscape would be my choice. I also like the patterns on the windows.

  4. EricaK says:

    Love, love, love the blue door!

  5. Love the blue door with a rustic feel. Seem to lead to something amazing. The creek, a perfect place to unwind. Have a great week!

  6. Sally: The Blue Door gets my vote. I love door shots and when they’re blue, even more so. Great use of the shadows cast across the brickwork, too. Nicely done!

  7. I like the door; it’s simple and direct. Good shot, Sally!

  8. elisaruland says:

    The shade of cobalt paint on the doors reminds of the wine glasses that I’ve always wanted to own. Its so rich and reminds me of how beautiful they would look on the table.

  9. Amar Naik says:

    first picture grabs the attention 🙂 nice clicks

  10. DCTdesigns says:

    Definitely the door, the blue is outstanding. The lighter planes of glass and the mottle brick perfect compliments.

  11. The blue door, of course!

  12. thirdeyemom says:

    Gorgeous! I love the saturated blue my favorite color!

  13. Gallivanta says:

    I am with the ‘blues’ too; the colour is so gloriously intense.

  14. Have to agree with the door being the one that drew me in. Julie and I saw some lovely doors in San Francisco on Tuesday. You can imagine our progress….walk, walk, take a photo, walk, take a bunch of photos, walk some more. It was great and we had a blast.

    janet

  15. I’m joining the blue door crowd, love that color, but I also really like the subtle shades in the creek. Nice choices for this challenge.

  16. dimlamp says:

    Incredible blue door, well done.

  17. Sally, that top picture is sensational-that blue is gorgeous!

  18. Love the blue door! I read somewhere that a blue door signifies that a nubile young woman resides within!

  19. I love the blue door! because of the blue and the door is always a good sign of getting somewhere! but the reds in the second picture are also very enticing. Great shots, Sally! as usual… 😀

  20. I like the first one. Great blue, and nice job managing the shadows and light in this image.

  21. hugmamma says:

    I like blue…more is better. So it’s a no-brainer…photo #2. ha, ha. I jest, of course. #1…all the way! 😆

  22. Lignum Draco says:

    I prefer the 1st one for its colour and composition.

  23. I love the blue door shot, really great shade of blue and photo

  24. Love the saturated blue of the doors!

  25. The first one is awesome!

Leave a Reply

