WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Good Morning

04 October 2013

Lens:

1. Morning Cloudscapes, Nikon DSLR, September 2013;© Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Morning Cloudscapes, Nikon DSLR, September 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Morning Exercise. iPhone 4s, October 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Morning Exercise. iPhone 4s, October 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which is your favorite and why.

Pens:

“Good Morning” is WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge theme. Although it conjures various scenarios for me, my morning meal is a battle. So you will not see frothy drinks or luscious pastries. I choose a different interpretation–outside where the day often begins for me.

In the Lens section are my responses. The first image is part of my Cloudscape series, where stacks of movement is pronounced and eye-catching. The second is a college exercise class that I passed yesterday. As I was walking home on Main Street, USA, I spied this gathering inching up and down one of the campus buildings–a definite wake-up for them.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Photography, Street Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Good Morning

  1. Dina says:

    My favourite is the second. It’s unique, great and just fantastic, well done.
    Love, Dina

  2. marialla says:

    I had a hard time choosing because naturally the clouds are the because I always love pictures of clouds but the picture of the people is such an interesting catch. It is truly a case of being in the right place at the right time or know what a right time might be. Thank and maybe in the end I will have to go with the second picture.!

  3. I like number two for the unity of shapes.

  4. Nancy Power says:

    Oh, I just love the cloudscape with the industry at the bottom – I do a lot of prints of clouds and am working on a series of pylon images at the moment too! So that one is my favourite! The students one is wonderful too of course!

  5. Clear skies and energizing exercise , a good morning indeed. Have a fun Sunday!

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Love the cloudscape but the second photo is my favourite. I like the way you say that you were ‘stilling’ the scene.

  7. Nancy Gray says:

    Isn’t it interesting that they both say the same thing – at least to me. Cumulus students.

    Nancy

  8. thirdeyemom says:

    Wonderful photos for the challenge! I’m not really a breakfast person but always have to have my cup of coffee and glass of fresh orange juice.

  9. Amar Naik says:

    love the symmetry of clicks in second photo. great click of action 🙂

  10. Nico says:

    Sally,

    The second picture surprised me and made me smile. You captured the moment beautifully. I hope that you enter a photo competition with that one.

  11. patriciamoed says:

    Although the cloud shot is lovely, my favorite is the exercise class. I love the symmetry and humor of it! Great capture.

    Patti

  12. Love them both but I think I must pick the first one. The serenity of the clouds interrupted as I scrolled down by the stark metal of the industrial area below. Wonderful!

  13. cindy knoke says:

    The walkng up the stairs is quite intriguing. People, any living creatures co-operating, acting in unison, is compellng. Even plants movng towards the sun. Great post & shots~

  14. Tina Schell says:

    Both are lovely but I much prefer the second. It really captures a moment in time and definitely fits the challenge beautifully!

  15. I was going to say #1 is great… but I scrolled down and stopped in my tracks. #2 is AWESOME!! Thank you for showing us this little glimpse of Main Street, USA 🙂

  16. I prefer the cloud/industrial photo– both are contrasty which works in favor of the cloud photo– creates a starkness, gives definition, tells a story, gives emotion. The second photo is taken well, but the heavy contrast detracts from the overall image. Nice work on both 🙂 ~peace, Jason

  17. I just LOVE the morning exercise pic’! it’s just fabulous!

  18. Lignum Draco says:

    Two completely different morning scenes, one more peaceful and the other more energetic. Quite a contrast. But I prefer my mornings peaceful. 🙂

  19. maamej says:

    I like the first pic because of the contrast between the majestic clouds and the industrial clutter below.

  20. Frances D says:

    The second is my favorite. Black & White was a perfect choice.

  21. I especially like the cloudscape. You can really see the clouds’ interesting shapes when they are in black and white.

  22. I really love the 2nd image. You’ve done a terrific job catching and stopping the action.

Leave a Reply

