WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Grand

06 December 2013

Lens:

Topiary, Longwood Gardens, iPhone 4s, December 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Topiary, Longwood Gardens, iPhone 4s, December 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Pens:

This past week I went to one of our national treasures, Longwood Gardens. With the wintry holidays upon us, their indoor and outdoor displays easily perform on a grand scale.

While the Conservatory and other inside rooms are lined with floral holiday delights, I was struck at the end of the photo shoot with the area that exhibits outdoor topiary. Their claim to my attention was instant.

More than usual they seemed to startle me. Maybe it was the light. Maybe it was their newly anointed shapes. But they stand proud and rather stately–grand to be sure.

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Gardens and Gardening, Nature Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Grand

  1. HansHB says:

    A great composition, lovely green!

  2. It is like another world.

  3. Tina Schell says:

    One of my absolutely favorite places Sally. Lived about 40 minutes away for many years and went as often as possible. A truly magical place, especially during the holidays. Excellent choice!!

  4. Gallivanta says:

    The topiary seems enormous. Is it very old?

  5. That is a perfect vision of cheer for the holidays. Long wood Garden is beautiful. Wishing you and your family all the best for the Holidays.

  6. Madhu says:

    Grand and artsy 🙂 Love the processing!

  7. Coincidence: I was at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center yesterday and was surprised to see one bush that the gardeners had pruned into a rounded shape. Normally they leave the plants there in a relatively natural state (other than things like cutting off a branch that blocks a path).

    The topiaries in you photograph remind me—minus the green—of the funereal sculptures at some of the cemeteries in New Orleans.

  8. There’s a house near us that always has bushes cut in fantastical shapes. I call them Dr. Suess bushes/trees. 🙂 I find topiary very interesting but prefer the natural look for my yard. I’d love to see this garden that’s the scene of so many of your beautiful photos and writing.

    janet

    • Janet, I do feel so lucky to have it nearby. I do so agree with you. My own garden is various combinations of natural habitats. I feel it is my duty and responsibility to give back to the land what we have taken from nature. Thanks.

  9. Amar Naik says:

    This are beautiful. Longwood Garden as always amazed me each season with their varied displays. Christmas being my favorite 🙂

  10. elisaruland says:

    I love this photograph!

  11. That is really artsy outdoor topiary, really eye-catching.

  12. Indira says:

    Green is always delightful to the eyes, lovely photograph, seems of some magical place.

  13. These are GRAND and I love this part of Longwood…well, I love it all. Are you going to see the Christmas display? I think I am!

  14. Amy says:

    I remember the grand views in Longwood Gardens during Christmas 🙂

  15. I was struck by the mysterious green color and texture….almost gelatinous. Very interesting!

  16. Lignum Draco says:

    Beautiful, particularly when I look out into my backyard in comparison. 🙂 The colours are very vivid. Have a great weekend.

  17. Like from a fairy tale, my thoughts exactly 🙂

  18. Grand indeed at the same time suggestive of a fairy tail.

Leave a Reply

