WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Window

10 January 2014

Lens:

Windows, UD Morris Library, iPhone 4s, November 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

Windows, UD Morris Library, iPhone 4s, November 2013; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2014

Let me know what you think about my photograph.

Pens:

What intrigues me about windows is their reflective qualities. During the day the illumination can be palpable. In just the right position for the sun’s brilliance, a window can be astoundingly magnificence.

It easy to dream about a favorite stained-glass window shot with beams of sunlight. The difference between the lit and unlit are vast.

I feel the same about the difference between a window bathed in light from the daytime vs. various brushstrokes of artificial light broadcast inside out at night. There is a divergent, yet similar quality realized.

In the Lens section is an image that I took a few months ago. I was experimenting with late evening light–light filtering from the interiors of buildings and light spread by exterior lampposts.

I was particularly drawn to this series of windows that made for a backdrop as I walked passed a wall of the University of Delaware Morris Library. Without a doubt it was the reflection of the trees that made the scene stand at attention for me. The series of windows mirrored the outside in the deep of dark, and made images dance across the glass.

Note: As always I welcome any comments about this post or any part of my blog.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Design, Mobile Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Window

  1. Love how the tree branches are superimposed on the windows in this stark image! Agree with trifocal that one needs to look at it and process what one is really seeing with this image.

  2. thirdeyemom says:

    Pretty stunning photographs!

  3. UreshaM says:

    Awesome shot. Love the feeling of mystery and curiosity that it evokes.

  4. Tina Schell says:

    I agree Sally, the trees make the window photo-worthy! Nicely captured.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Intriguing and also eerie.

  6. Love the randomness of the leaves silhouetted against the squares of the windows …. gives me a very nostalgic feeling. Lovely Shot !!!

  7. I really like this, the way the entirely black areas frames the window leads the eye to a mysterious indoor scene. Well done!

  8. Brilliant photo. Sort of eerie. 😀

  9. It is good to see a window frame which is not just a simple rectangle used to frame a view. Nice shot!

  10. Back drop yes, for Our Town or Oklahoma or some grand opera.

  11. A window that leads to all things good and beautiful for 2014. An exciting start for a brand new year! Happy Saturday my friend!

  12. Marianne Green says:

    I like this mysterious look at something commonplace!

  13. Did you know that the word window began as the Anglo-Saxon version of wind-eye? I find it a great metaphor.

  14. iceman says:

    a very beautiful picture. Congratulations

  15. vastlycurious.com says:

    Intriguing and mysterious Sally!

  16. Definitely a mystical quality at night and in B& W. Thanks for another great inspirational post.

  17. FireBonnet says:

    Oh my gosh, Trifocal, it really does seem as though the trees might be inside, or even that we might be inside looking out… the trees most certainly star in this photograph Sally. Wonderful interpretation of this week’s theme.

  18. Leya says:

    At first I thought it was taken from inside a church, then I realised it was from the outside. And not a church. Great take on this!

  19. M. R. says:

    At first glance, it looks like a ruined church … I think it must be the tree branches … which means it’s something from my memories. Perfect for B&W. Marvellous pic.!
    P.S. Your header: are those trulli?

  20. Trifocal says:

    I see this as a ‘wonder what’ picture. I wonder what shape the building itself is? And what is going on behind those hazy windows? I also like the ‘see it two ways’ effect; is this a picture of a building with trees in front of it (highly likely!) or of a building with no floors and a tree growing up inside it? Rather less likely but fun to imagine 🙂

Leave a Reply

