Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Nature (and the Light of a Sunrise)

04 August 2014

Lens:

1. Sunrise at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

1. Sunrise at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Sunrise at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Sunrise at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

3. Wildflowers at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

3. Wildflowers at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

3. Wildflowers at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

4. Morning Light at the Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

5. Reflections at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

5. Reflections at Reservoir; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

I am constantly searching for the best vantage point to capture the day’s first light. When the display begins before 6:30 a.m., my mind must be prodded really hard to acquiesce. On the day of this photo shoot the sunrise was scheduled for 5:56 a.m. But I succumbed.

I awoke determined. My mission was cast. I must find a new setting for this photogenic event. Previous destinations have not had those sweeping panoramas. Nor did they have the depth and breath of the landscape that must be presence to try and do it justice.

I’ve been seeking the perfect spot for a very long time, but it has alluded me. Still, it was not just that daily event that encourages and energizes me. Equally, it is my ongoing fascination with natural light.

And so it was that I stepped from my car, and climbed the gradual incline to my small town’s reservoir. As I reached the midway point, the sun began its ascent from dark clouds to bright formations. As the sun’s rays broke into melody, I knew that I finally had found the apt place with enough of an open vista to view as many dawns as I can muster the fortitude to witness.

As I watched the moment-by-moment alterations of this first light, I knew that my discovery was acknowledged and confirmed. Each abatement or acceleration enticed and promoted my emotions.

I continued on my walk, heading toward the top of the hill where the trail circles the reservoir. The path was salt and peppered with bikers and some serious joggers, none of whom changed my affection for this adventure.

The reservoir has become a wildlife habitat. Years ago when it was built, they came: animals, birds, insects, flowers, trees, grasses, and so much more found a new residence. And my town received an ongoing water source (emergency supply only) plus a quiet retreat for biking and pedestrian traffic.

In the Lens section are the result of this excursion. I’ve posted a variety from the photo shoot, because the morning gave such brilliant and then subtle light that it was worth every bit of energy needed to get there.

Temporarily, my search for a glowing sunrise was realized. In reality that journey will never be complete, because I’m on a constant pilgrimage to seek the poetry of natural light.

No matter how many times a sunrise or sunset performs before me, I feel in the midst of another epiphany. These glorious beginnings or endings of a day are the usual for Mother Nature, but they confound me.

Tip of the Week: On the iPhone Photography School website I found a video (10:04 minutes) that shows  iPhoneographer Emil Pakarklis editing a sunset photograph using Snapseed. Although he does more editing on his image than I ever do on any of mine, it’s worth the time to watch what he does. Click here to view it. Click here to see on the same Website “30 Amazing iPhone Photos that Show Stunning Sky.”

View other entries for this week’s challenge: Nature

http://pictograf.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-nature-2/

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-nature-lavender-dreams/

http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/phoneography-nature-challenge-turkey-talk/

http://completelydisappear.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/into-a-garden/

http://nwframeofmind.com/2014/08/04/iphoneography-monday-8-4-14/

http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/phoneography-challenge-nature-on-the-backroads/

http://amaltaas.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-nature-2/

http://bambangpriantono.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-naturealam-without-sunrisetanpa-matahari-terbit/

http://forestwoodfolkart.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/phoneography-and-other-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-nature/

http://uniqueartchic.com/2014/08/05/extreme-sunflower/

http://zimmerbitch.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/on-nature-when-its-cold-wet-and-utterly-beautiful/

http://allkindsaeverything.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/phoneography-and-non-slr-challenge-nature-4/

http://helpalongthepath.com/2014/08/04/rooster-phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge/

http://austindetails.me/2014/08/06/sunset-party/

http://artifactsandfictions.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/forest-mysteries/

Note:

If you’d like to join the Photo Challenge, please click here for details. If you have any questions, please contact me. Below is a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming Photo Challenges:

1st Monday: Nature.

2nd Monday: Macro.

3rd Monday: Black and White.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Portraiture, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

5th Monday: Editing and Processing with Various Apps Using Themes from the Fourth Week.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Human Nature, Nature Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Nature (and the Light of a Sunrise)

  1. Pingback: Where There’s a Sunset Party Every Night | Pairings :: Art + What Goes With It

  2. Love the linear vertical content in #5 !

  3. Beautiful epiphany and you have ( captured the light)!!

  4. joshi daniel says:

    Gorgeous and great contrast 🙂

  5. Aquileana says:

    Marvelous shots… Keep it up!!!.
    Best wishes, Aquileana 😛

  6. Suzanne says:

    I love your photos this week – No.2 and No. 4 are my favourites – for the light and shade and for the wonderful power of No. 2 and the serenity of No. 4. Here’s my contribution to the challenge – a bit late but definitely taken with my phone 🙂

  7. Here’s a late entry to Nature, using my iPhone 5s and my Photo fx Ultra app for edits and the hill-country beauty of Austin, Texas:

    Where There’s A Sunset Party Every Night
    http://austindetails.me/2014/08/06/sunset-party/

  8. dsaquarelles says:

    Very interesting photos! I prefer the second one for the grey blue and the warm light in contrast!

  9. livvy30 says:

    Lovely shots as always Sally. I really like all the water ones. Here’s mine for this week. http://allkindsaeverything.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/phoneography-and-non-slr-challenge-nature-4/

  10. Jackie says:

    Great captures! I like them all but I especially like #4. There is just something about it that appeals to me.

  11. Gallivanta says:

    I am so fortunate you made the effort. These photos of sunrise and the early light at the reservoir are sublime.

  12. I love the fourth picture the most. It just has a lovely, serene ‘feel’, and the subtle colours work well with the shadows. I can hardly ever make it on time to capture a sunrise :-/ I suppose I’m more a sunset sort of a person!

  13. Su Leslie says:

    These are lovely; too hard to pick a favourite! Like you, I’ve chosen an early-morning set of shots. http://zimmerbitch.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/on-nature-when-its-cold-wet-and-utterly-beautiful/

  14. marialla says:

    FANTASTIC SHOTS -JUST FANTASTIC!!!!

  15. Sally, these nature shots are beautiful! I especially love no 2 because it looks like a dramatic Charlton Heston movie scene, and no 4 for the pure peace of it!
    Here is my entry this week. http://uniqueartchic.com/2014/08/05/extreme-sunflower/

  16. I have used snapseed before but this tutorial really made me realize there is much more I can do to enhance my photos. Thanks so much Sally for another fantastic and educational post. I think the second photo is the best this week. Here is my contribution:
    http://forestwoodfolkart.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/phoneography-and-other-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-nature/

  17. restlessjo says:

    The soft, soft colours of no 4 makes it a little piece of magic for me, Sally. 🙂

  18. Dawn says:

    #2 is very inviting – shining nature.

  19. #2 – because nature is always amazing 🙂

  20. Indira says:

    Beautiful Photographs Sally. The sunrise photographs always catch my eyes and heart. My entry- http://amaltaas.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-nature-2/

  21. Angeline M says:

    Sally, I love your sunrise #2 for the bluing sky and rays shining out in a swath like that. I love sunrises, photos of sunrises. I’ve only been able to prod myself out of bed for sunrise photography once in my life. Maybe the spirit will move me when we’re in Hawaii at the end of September.
    Here is nature in my neck of the woods http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/phoneography-challenge-nature-on-the-backroads/

  22. Geoff says:

    I’m much enamoured by #5 Reflections in the reservoir… I particularly like the subtly strong red pipe running the length of the image 🙂

  23. I love image #4-it has a wonderful painterly feel about it-the soft and muted colors hint at the serenity of this time of day-beautiful work Sally!

  24. What a beautiful location, Sally. I really like the energy you’ve captured as the sun bursts through the clouds, then the wildflowers that thrive in the light and finally the calm waters of the reservoir. My nature image will be ready for posting a little later today. 🙂 Lisa

  25. Maria F. says:

    I love the crepuscular rays and you captured them very well IMOHO.

  26. I really like the second image, the colour version of the sunrise. Love the way the sun is breaking through the clouds and the variation in colour.

  27. Wonderful sunrise photos. They’re all so different it’s difficult to choose a favorite. But I think I’m drawn to the first one. There’s something about the feeling of being on the open road and seeing the daybreak through massive clouds. At least it looks like it’s a road and not a stream to me! I wasn’t able to enlarge it for some reason to look closer. Love it! And thanks for those links. I’ll be checking them out.

  28. Numbers 2 and 4 are splendid! One dynamic the other serene. All worth getting out of bed for.
    Happy Monday.

  29. Wow the reflections image (last) is amazing.

  30. Amy says:

    Great capture of the sunset. Love the wildflower photo. 🙂

  31. I especially loved 2 and 3. I’m always amazed by your ability to see the strange and beautiful in the familiar.

  32. Sally, it was well worth your time to get up early. We’re on the road in South Dakota, where we also saw a glorious sunset and I was trying to take pictures from the van, as bill’s driving for now.

    I enjoyed all your photos! No choosing this morning. :-). When you have time, would you link me? Other than the phone, I won’t have internet until tonight. Thanks once more!

    A marvelous Monday to you,

    janet

Leave a Reply

