Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Abstractions in Architecture)

22 December 2014

Lens:

1. Reflections Under the White Clay Creek Bridge; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

1. Reflections Under the White Clay Creek Bridge; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Reflections Under the White Clay Creek Bridge; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Reflections Under the White Clay Creek Bridge; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

Let me know which you prefer and why. Click to enlarge the image.

Pens:

“Ode to Bridges”

Bridges repair souls. Escalate dreams. Fulfill visions. Transpose reality. Cultivate adventure. Calm destinations sought. Carry sunlight, starlight. Move tribes. Relinquish power. Cast spells.

Bridges mesmerize. Build foundations. Seek answers. Create questions.

Bridges reflect, eyes forward or backward. Give golden moments for repose. Incite untold possibilities.

In the Lens section are two images that show the abstract quality of architecture: angles and lines, colors and shapes that are in our sights each and every day. As we isolate these elements, we see what often is unnoticed–and yet always right before us: abstractions in architecture and just about everywhere.

Tip of the Week: Recently, a historic exhibition, “Drawn by Light: The Royal Photographic Society Collection,” opened in central London. On exhibit are some of the earliest known images (1820s). These works cover a span that starts with early pioneers and reaches to contemporary photographers. “Drawn by Light” is the first major London show to highlight the rich contents of the oldest photographic society in the world. The show is open until 03 March 2015, and in 2017 will travel to the Reiss-Engelhorn-Museen, Mannheim, Germany.  For those of us who cannot see the exhibition in England or Germany, please click here to view some of the photographs, which are published online at The Telegraph’s website. The Society houses 250,000 images, 8,000 items of photographic equipment and 31,000 books, periodicals and documents. Most assuredly, it is one of the most comprehensive global collections of photography.

"Soldiers of the Sky," 1940, Nickolas Muray

“Soldiers of the Sky,” 1940, Nickolas Muray

View other entries for this week’s challenge:

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-philadelphia-street-photography/

https://chasinglifeandfindingdreams.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/weekend-with-the-bouncing-kids-and-fish/

http://streetsofsfphotos.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/pumpkin-snowman/comment-page-1/

https://completelydisappear.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/im-alive/

https://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/phoneography-challengelocking-it-up/

http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/phoneography-images-from-the-longest-night-of-the-year/

https://decocraftsdigicrafts.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/phoneography-challenge-st-nicklas/

http://motherwifestudentworker.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/branches/

http://nwframeofmind.com/2014/12/22/phoneography-and-digital-photo-challenge-portraiture-ryan-and-finn/

http://pilotfishblog.com/2014/12/23/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-challengers-choice-architecture/

Note:

As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

If you’d like to join the Photo Challenge, please click here for details. If you have any questions, please contact me. Below is a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming Photo Challenges:

1st Monday: Nature.

2nd Monday: Macro.

3rd Monday: Black and White.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Portraiture, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

5th Monday: Editing and Processing with Various Apps Using Themes from the Fourth Week.

This entry was posted in Abstraction, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Abstractions in Architecture)

  1. Beautiful poetry perfectly woven with the eye catching images. Thank you.

  2. Madhu says:

    Both are beautiful abstracts…finding it hard to pick one over the other! Happy Holidays Sally! And all best wishes for 2015 🙂

  3. restlessjo says:

    My but times have changed in the world of photography, Sally! I’m not likely to be in London any time soon so I had a peek at the exhibition photos 🙂
    I like the first of your images because it’s more subtle. I had to study a while to see what I was looking at. 🙂 Very best wishes for 2015!

  4. PS Blessings of the season to you!

  5. I like the second for the design and the reflection. It’s a wonderful composition and concept. bridges, the rainbow bridge to Asgaard, bridges of dreams and destinies, myth and reality, ideas and design. What a beautiful Ode to Bridges! Inspiring post!!

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful and amazingly creative as always Sally! Happy Holidays! See you in the new year! 😄

  7. Tina Schell says:

    Love the first shot Sally – btw your iphonography is quite a bit crisper and more detailed since you upgraded to the 6!

  8. I have to agree with Angeline’s comment….it took me a few seconds to even understand what you had captured. You mysterious lady. Smile. Merry Christmas.

  9. The abstracter the better, Sally. I think you did a fine job in seeing these two. The (approximately) circular openings remind me of the tail ends of the huge rockets that launch satellites and capsules into outer space.

    • Steve, it’s fascinating how we see our individual world as opposed to someone else’s interpretation. My mother was an attract expressionist in the 1950s-1970s. I had quite an education in the world of the
      non-representational. I appreciate your comment.

  10. suej says:

    The leading lines, the shapes of that second image for me, Sally! And I’m really plleased you have reminded me about the RPS exhibition – I was told about it the other day, then promptly forgot! I intend to see it. Have a great Christmas, and all the best for the New Year

  11. The strong simplicity of #1 makes it my favorite this week, Sally. Wonderful composition! Enjoy your Holidays. 🙂

  12. cindy knoke says:

    Fascinating & mysterious! Happy holidays!

  13. I really like the second photo best, Sally. That Drawn by Light exhibition sounds fabulous.

  14. I love reflections and these are so abstract. My favourite is the second one. 😀

  15. After closer attention I choose 2. The words Take Flight comes to mind when I look at it especially if I didn’t know it was a bridge…Extraordinary for an iPhone. Which app Did you use to take them? I just discovered Manual it lets you do a lot of adjusting. Haven’t had to a chance to use it yet…

    • I used Camera+ and that’s it. It is my current favorite app. Yes, with the new IOS, the manual features are available, and will make a difference in the control of the image’s quality. My best to your family and you over the winter holidays. Thanks so much.

  16. Maria F. says:

    Really like this. So well composed.

  17. Angeline M says:

    I really like that second photo; it took my eyes a couple of minutes to focus and really see what was going on there. I love when I see a photo like this and slowly bring it in to my mind’s focus.
    Happy Holidays, Sally. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, and a wonderful New Year!
    https://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/phoneography-challengelocking-it-up/

  18. Nato says:

    I think I like the second one more. The leading lines of the light make a triangle that seems to point to the end of the pipes. And the colors are just so attractive! Great catch:) Here is my submission for this week’s challenge. Funny tidbit. I was taking pictures with my Canon at the time, but my card was full when I reached the little sea dragons. So, I had to break out my phone to get my submission shot, which just seemed perfect as it fit my post for the choice challenge on travel. https://chasinglifeandfindingdreams.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/weekend-with-the-bouncing-kids-and-fish/

  19. pattimoed says:

    The exhibit in London looks fantastic. I’d love to see it! Once again, your tips are great. Of the 2 photos, I prefer the second because the viewer can see more of the triangular form. It makes an intriguing contrast with the round shapes. I’d never expect it was a reflection! Happy Monday!

  20. They’re both attractive, Sally, but my eyes are drawn back to the first one. I like the verticality ? of it and the larger look of it. Obviously it’s difficult for me to put into words, but that’s the one for me this week. Enjoy your week!

    janet

Leave a Reply

