Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro (Lives of a Flower)

09 January 2017

Lens:

Edited in Snapseed and Pixlr

Dried Zinnia Photomontage; Copyright © 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

Dried Zinnia Photomontage; Copyright © 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

Click on image to enlarge. Let me know what you think about this photomontage. Prints are available upon request.

Pens:

As I dry and observe the metamorphosis of a plucked flower, another connection to nature is placed in my treasure trove. Each memory solidifies how essential this partnership is to my psyche.

In my kitchen there are shelves that serve multiply purposes. One area is to dry buds, flowers and leaves that enchant me, grab my attention in their final stages in my gardens, or spied on excursions.

Each provides a story about the life cycle and the visual appeal of the step-by-step transformation from bud to dried stage and beyond. I am entranced and entertained. This journey to finale of these natural wonders, never cease to amaze.

In the Lens section is such a jewel, plucked at autumn’s mid-point. It rested with much ado about my constant gaze. As it reinvented itself, its appearance became another form of beauty and comfort to me.

This one flowerhead became diminutive, barely there. Still, its portrait screams its transformation. As I contemplated the layering of the flower with other images, I decided to use it as a play on double exposure. It became a record of its marching orders by doubling its presence, yet fading into the past.

Tip of the Week: Hudson Valley Seed Library is a nod to the environment, gardeners and nature enthusiasts. Its online presence is a gift to those of us who plant heirloom and open-pollinated garden seeds. While I await its spring catalog, I peruse their site.

From their website: “Many of these seeds they produce on their own small farm; the rest they source from other local farmers, farmers in other regions, and from trustworthy wholesale seed houses that are not owned by or affiliated with multi-national biotech companies. They have signed the Safe Seed Pledge, and they adhere to Vandana Shiva’s Declaration of Seed Freedom. As of May 2013, they are both a Certified Organic farm and a Certified Organic Handler (both by NOFA-NY LLC).” You also can visit this website.

From an interview by Nasimeh Babrayni (20 December 2014): What inspired Hudson Valley Seed Library (HVSL)? Ken Greene, who is one of the owners of HVSL, responds,  “I had become a seed saver in my own garden after learning about some of the global seed issues including loss of genetic diversity and consolidation of seed resources by the biotech industry. I wanted to make a small difference by taking responsibility for our local seeds and making sure they were preserved and protected. But that didn’t feel like I was doing enough, I wanted to find a way to share the seeds, and seed saving skills, with more people in my community. The more hands and gardens the seeds pass through, the more alive and protected they are for the future. I began to see seeds as having much in common with books–especially books in a library.”

I started using their seeds last year, and will again for the upcoming planting seasons. I also am interested in the seed exchange program, which is an opportunity to participate in their mission. Even if you are not a gardener, I hope that you enjoy this company’s role in sustainability, and what others are doing to preserve nature’s gifts for the present and future generations.

Hudson Valley Seed Library

Hudson Valley Seed Library

View other entries for this week’s challenge:

https://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge-macro-drop/

https://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/mobile-photo-challenge-macro-and-more/

https://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/sally-ds-smart-device-macro-photography-winter-iris/

https://helenchen.ws/2017/01/09/

https://nowathome.wordpress.com/2017/01/10/sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge-macro-lavender/

https://zimmerbitch.wordpress.com/2017/01/11/the-post-christmas-back-to-basics-diet/

https://netdancer.com/2017/01/09/tis-the-season-for-snowflakes/

https://chasinglifeandfindingdreams.wordpress.com/2017/01/13/bubbles-of-character/

Note:

As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog. My photographs for the mobile photography challenge are taken with an iPhone 6.

****If you would like to buy a print of any of my photographs or have any questions, please view the Contact Information found on the masthead. Thank you.

If you’d like to join this Mobile Photography Challenge, please click here for details and history of the challenge. If you have any questions, please contact me. Below is a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming challenges:

1st Monday: Nature.

2nd Monday: Macro.

3rd Monday: Black and White.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Panorama, Portraiture, Photomontage, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

5th Monday: Editing and Processing with Various Apps Using Themes from the Fourth Week.

This entry was posted in Digital Art, Macro Photography, Mobile Photography, Nature Photography, Photography, Photomontage, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro (Lives of a Flower)

  1. restlessjo says:

    I love the delicacy of this, Sally. 🙂 Nice to watch you experimenting.

  2. Tiny says:

    Love your photo montage! The color palette is wonderful!

  3. Madhu says:

    Love the effect created by the double exposure Sally. Like an ornament! You should do a tutorial on how you achieved this.

    • Madhu, I use Pixlr, which is intuitive. Mostly, I try different images with its double exposure setting. Sometimes it takes several combinations until I get the one that appeals to me. Mostly, I join two images, but some of them can have three or more. First, I (usually) use Snapseed to do VERY slight editing. Then move into Pixlr. Thanks again for your response.

  4. Another delightful montage. I really love the dreamlike expression you create and not the least the beautiful palette.

  5. Su Leslie says:

    Beautiful image Sally; both engaging and restful.

  6. Jane Lurie says:

    Wonderful image, Sally. Love the depth of colors.

  7. Great photo story. Emerging or reseeding? I saw Arrival yesterday where time is not linear jus like your photo.
    ~C

  8. I love your echoing montage, Sally! 😀

  9. Amy says:

    Like a beautiful painting, Sally!

  10. The more I look at your image, the more I see and the more I like it. The depth and colors are wonderful. Thanks for the mention of the Hudson Valley Seed Company. I’ll have to take a look at their site. How wonderful that more people are doing this sort of thing!

    Happy Monday!

    janet

Leave a Reply

