Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Portrait of Another Orchid Photomontage)

27 March 2017

Lens:

Taken in Camera+ and edited in Snapseed and Pixlr

Cymbidium Orchids Photomontage; Copyright © 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

Cymbidium Orchids Photomontage; Copyright © 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

Click onto image to enlarge. Let me know your response to this photomontage. Prints are available upon request.

Pens:

The strange phenomenon of time’s passing works its way through my days. Time can linger but rarely. Usually it moves with a nonstop cadence that wavers between slow and gallop.

An open gate accompanies my ongoing affair with time,  forging days of choice and freedom: no clock to awaken me, just my internal circadian rhythm, which has been forever adjusted by my mature hormones.

As I laze in bed each morning, my new awareness climbs in next to me. After eight years of retirement, this winter’s continuous performance of grey days boosted my thoughts about a more relaxed approach to each day’s beginning.

No need to pop out of bed at first light, as I’ve been doing for decades. That habitual persistence was egged by my awareness and need to use time with its continuous dissolve. I am coerced to capture every moment, even in its illusion. Now I realize that even in the moment, there is a need to truly be with the moment, not in thought but in habit.

With tribute to time’s passage and its necessity in my life’s purpose, I honor it with this orchid photomontage—a photomontage that lands in Spring to heighten the brilliance of gifts yet to arrive. The radiance of the reddish-purple is the perfect hue to fuse my daily awareness with the here and now (and not just words but reality). Now I’m ready for a morning of foraging and forest bathing–bathing that soothes the spirit and soul with the ambience of nature.

Tip of the Week:

One of the masters of botanical photography was American artist Imogen Cunningham (1883-1976). A degree in chemistry helped her understand the science of the darkroom. In the years after the 1920s Cunningham focused on macro images, directing some of her efforts to the magnolia blossom. The exhibition, Imogen Cunningham in Focus, which includes her botanicals, runs through June 18, 2017, at the Herb Ritts Gallery (Gallery 169), Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. For additional information about a deeply spiritual interpretation of her visual world, visit the International Photography Hall of Fame and Museum.

 

"Still Life" by Imogen Cunningham

“Still Life” by Imogen Cunningham

View other entries to this week’s challenge:

https://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/2017/03/27/mobile-photo-challenge-your-choice-and-flower-of-the-day-3272017/

https://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2017/03/27/egrets-for-sally-ds-smart-device-challenge/

https://ohmsweetohm.me/2017/03/27/

https://angelinem.wordpress.com/2017/03/27/sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge-spring-pink/

https://nowathome.wordpress.com/2017/03/28/sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge-challengers-choice/

https://chasingtheblooms.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/daffodil-montage-sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge/

https://zimmerbitch.wordpress.com/2017/03/31/a-bit-heavy-on-the-metaphor/

Note:

As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog. My photographs for the mobile photography challenge are taken with an iPhone 6.

****If you would like to buy a print of any of my photographs or have any questions, please view the Contact Information found on the masthead. Thank you.

If you’d like to join this Mobile Photography Challenge, please click here for details and history of the challenge. If you have any questions, please contact me. Below is a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming challenges:

1st Monday: Nature.

2nd Monday: Macro.

3rd Monday: Black and White.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Panorama, Portraiture, Photomontage, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

5th Monday: Editing and Processing with Various Apps Using Themes from the Fourth Week.

This entry was posted in Digital Art, Macro Photography, Mobile Photography, Nature Photography, Photomontage, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Portrait of Another Orchid Photomontage)

  1. Sounds like wonderful, to be able to start a day with graze. And as always you have created a beautiful images.

  2. An inspiring post and a dazzling image! E dolce far niente!!

  3. Forest-bathing is a wonderful term, Sally. I guess that is what I do each morning at the footbridge when I immerse myself for a moment in that small patch of wilderness. Delightful words.

  4. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely image and post Sally. And I found myself nodding in agreement with Lignum Draco’s comment.

  5. Beautiful! Love the color❣

  6. Angeline M says:

    A beautiful photo, Sally. The color is wonderful as is the composition. I too am working on being in the moment, and find it so much more as I work on photos and being out in nature to just be with it. Retirement gives us so much wonderful time to do just this.
    A great coincidence on the photo I worked on yesterday for the challenge today, and that you would have this wonderful link to Imogen Cunningham.
    Have a week filled with spring color and beauty.

  7. Helen C says:

    Good morning, Sally. I woke up at 9:30 this morning, read your post and smiled. 😉
    >> Now I realize that even in the moment, there is a need to truly be with the moment, not in thought but in habit.
    I learned paying attention (mindfully) to the moment 6 months ago. Still, I find myself asking the question “are you paying attention now?” quite often 😉 Even though I am not quite there yet, I feel more peaceful and content since I started doing it. Thanks for your wisdom words and lovely photo.
    Have a wonderful day.

  8. Good food for thoughts and a feast for the eyes as well today, Sally.
    Ω

  9. A dive into a cave of delight if you dare. Now we know spring is here.
    Happy Monday

  10. Amy says:

    Love your orchid series, Sally.

  11. Lignum Draco says:

    Lovely photomontage. Macro shows us the commonplace in a different light, just as retirement has given you a different attitude to time.

  12. pattimoed says:

    That color is spectacular, Sally! A wonderful tribute to the day, to spring, to being in the moment. It’s a struggle, isn’t it, to stay within the present? My mind is flicking from one moment to the next to the past, the future, instead of right now. Have an inspiring day and week, Sally. 🙂

    • Patti, yes, our minds are inundated with an abundance of information that is not always in our best interest. This being in the here and now is a journey that I am continuously working on. Happy today and always…

  13. Elisa Ruland says:

    I, too, am a fan of the relaxed beginning of the day. Enjoy your morning, Sally. Loved your post and lovely orchid photograph.

Leave a Reply

