Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Portraits of a Siberian Iris)

22 May 2017

Lens:

Taken in Camera+ and edited in Snapseed

1. Siberian Iris; 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

1. Siberian Iris; 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

Taken in Camera+ and edited in Snapseed

2. Siberian Iris; 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

2. Siberian Iris; 2017 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved

Click onto each image to enlarge. Let me know which you prefer. Prints are available upon request.

“Every social justice movement that I know of has come out of people sitting in small groups, telling their life stories, and discovering that other people have shared similar experiences.” — Gloria Steinem

Pens:

Every flower has its own narrative and personality. But some flatter your attention with gusto, and dazzle with design, intensity, patterns, vibrancy… Their lure is undeniable; their style is majestic. Spring’s Siberian iris is such a visual jewel.

This iris is delicate and short-lived. Nonetheless, it’s dimensionality and textual grace make it both complex and simple in its depiction. How to even describe one’s reaction to such a beauty: well, sometimes the image is enough.

The visual transforms senses and thoughts. The forces of a single bloom is memorable, and groupings are sensational. These stars of the season are silent in gesture, but loudly vocal in their offerings. They make quite an impression.

In the Lens section are my portraits of one such deeply purple Siberian iris. As a perennial their presence spreads, and takes center stage in mid Spring. When they have hit their final phase, long eloquent green shoots stay for weeks as reminders. These clusters of flat leaves dance in the wind, and give solace in the continual blossoming of the season’s gifts.

Tip of the Week:

Nature is my muse, and flowers is a recurring subject for my photo shoots. The iPhone Photography School has many articles that inform about the use of Smartphones as the lens that stirs one’s enthusiasm. Click here to read “10 Tips for Stunning iPhone Flower Photography” by Rob Dunsford and posted on 21 June 2015. The photos and tips, such as shoot indoors (where my images were taken), will remind or inform you about ways to photograph gems of nature.

View other entries from this week’s challenge:

https://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2017/05/22/a-connoisseur-of-comfort/

https://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/2017/05/22/the-mopop-building-the-emp-museum/

https://ohmsweetohm.me/2017/05/22/

https://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2017/05/22/the-old-rose-show-sally-for-ds-mobile-photo-challenge/

https://nowathome.wordpress.com/2017/05/22/sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge-challengers-choice-misty/

https://wordandimagecollages.wordpress.com/2017/05/23/rocks-as-energy/

https://chasingtheblooms.wordpress.com/2017/05/23/sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge-052317/

https://zimmerbitch.wordpress.com/2017/05/26/taken/

Note:

As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog. My photographs for the mobile photography challenge are taken with an iPhone 6.

****If you would like to buy a print of any of my photographs or have any questions, please view the Contact Information found on the masthead. Thank you.

If you’d like to join this Mobile Photography Challenge, please click here for details and history of the challenge. If you have any questions, please contact me. Below is a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming challenges:

1st Monday: Nature.

2nd Monday: Macro.

3rd Monday: Black and White.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Panorama, Portraiture, Photomontage, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

This entry was posted in Digital Art, Mobile Photography, Nature Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Portraits of a Siberian Iris)

  1. Hemangini says:

    Love the tips and advice. I will recommend this blog to my brother. He is also a photographer.

  2. I love your description and thoughts too!!

  3. Su Leslie says:

    Both lovely shots Sally; though I prefer the first for much the same reason as Draco. I also felt the sense of movement — of dance.

  4. Madhu says:

    Love the gorgeous colour. I like the sense of movement in the first one, reminds me of a ballerina for some reason 🙂

  5. thirdeyemom says:

    So beautiful Sally! Do you have a garden? You always have such gorgeous flowers in your photos so I wondered if you grew them all yourself?

  6. “Every flower has it’s own narrative” that must be why I become totally focused on a certain flower in my garden for a while. I am listening to her story. When I can hear it over the mockingbirds…Thank you for the lessons this week
    Happy shooting
    Carol

  7. I prefer the second one, but I couldn’t tell why! Beautiful pictures 🙂

  8. Suzanne says:

    I love the sense of movement in your photos and the colour makes my heart sing.

  9. Tina Schell says:

    An interesting duo this week Sally. I think I love the interesting pose of the first flower altho the second is interesting as well. They definitely have their own personalities in the way they are presented.

  10. restlessjo says:

    I’m dancing right along with Draco! I love the flamboyance of this iris, Sally. 🙂

  11. The first photo with its drooping flamboyant skirt petals really showcases the personality of this iris.

  12. The Siberian Iris has such beautiful flowers. My favourite of this two photos is the first one. I like the more open space you have created around the petals of the flower.

  13. A really lovely photograph.

  14. I like them both, but I think the second is my favorite. The depth of color contrasted with the delicacy of that center part is dramatic and lovely. Have a wonder-filled week.

    janet

  15. I really like the shape and color of the first photo this week, Sally. This is a gorgeous specimen. I always thought that Irises were the perfect flower to give to an Optometrist.
    Ω

  16. Amy says:

    Very beautiful, Sally. I love how you describe in the Pens. 🙂

  17. Lignum Draco says:

    It’s a beautiful flower, not easy to ignore with the depth of its “royal purple”.
    The first one somehow reminded me of a dancer. Skirt flowing in the breeze and a kick about to be let out. Strange how the eye leads the mind.

Leave a Reply

