Nature Photography: Coexistence (No. 61) – Earth Day 2020 (50th Anniversary), Celebrate Humanity and Nature

22 April 2020

Lens:

“Seeing the Planet through Our Own Lens,” Earth Day 2020; All Rights Reserved 2020 Sally W. Donatello

Click onto image to enlarge. Let me know your response to this photomontage. Prints are available upon request.

Pens:

Happy Earth Day, fifty years ago a worldwide effort was launched to preserve and protect our spinning planet. We have not met that promise. But I am confident that if good can emerge from the devastation of the pandemic, it is greater awareness that reduction of pollution over the last weeks has clearly made a difference. Countries have seen air quality improve, it’s brings pause that a health crisis could give such hope for change.

I am grateful to those followers who have sent messages to ask about me. It’s Day 42 of sheltering at home, and it’s a continual roller coaster of emotions. It is extraordinary to be on this journey with every other human being. And as many of you some new tasks are exhausting: will I have to be vigilant the rest of my life, careful what and who I touch; will certain aspect of our lifestyle be forever gone and rearranged in ways that are counter to our instincts. And so it goes. These are times my inner philosopher reigns.

I have not been present on my blog since March. I’ve been busy—from constant connection with family and friends to daily gardening to a virtual class to journaling to reading to creating mew work and on an on—to bridge this extraordinary moment in all our lives. My attention has been focused, but time has been redefined, giving new meaning to decisions made and executed.

I continue devotion to nature as my muse. She is always on my mind, and my stewardship is pledged as always in my garden. When the pandemic hit my small university town in February, it became the epicenter of cases in my state. And those I know began planning.

At that point I had been meeting weekly (for months) with a dear friend who is an artist. We decided to continue by phone, and use this shelter in place as space to do projects that will push the boundaries of our work. We have different visions through different media and color palette, but our philosophies melt in symbiosis. The result is pushing our sense of self- expression and encouraging boundless ideas. That work is being held tight, and some of it will eventually appear on my blog.

For now I placed in the Lens section an image that is meant to show how we each see nature and the world through different lenses. Mine is very much the glass full and even at times spilling over. But this global crisis does give pause for lifestyle and the world to come, the unknown life in the aftermath. The images explodes with hues of hope.

While I will return with weekly posts, my inner compass will determine when I will. It will be relatively soon (maybe May or June).

Please support all the brave and courageous people placing their lives at risk for us ( this Saturday is a nationwide effort to thank them with signs: I’m also placing flowers near my mailbox). Where I live my neighbors are respectful as we take daily walks; compassion, empathy and respect are necessary now.

Each of us must find ways to navigate this unique personal and global challenge. Take a moment and feel the sun on your face, go out tonight and star gaze, thank Mother Earth for giving us life and breath. Plant a tree. Plant a container garden of herbs.

Cheer yourself with small acts of compassion to others and yourself. It matters more than ever.

There are so many ways to honor the earth. I hope that you connect, discover or reconnect with nature today and everyday. She is a healer and provider of optimism. Celebrate her, because in doing so, we celebrate every human that walks the earth.

Mostly, please take care of yourself. There is a light that shines ahead, and we will be better for it.

This entry was posted in Climate Crisis, Digital Art, Mobile Photography, Nature, Nature Photography, Photography, Photomontage, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Nature Photography: Coexistence (No. 61) – Earth Day 2020 (50th Anniversary), Celebrate Humanity and Nature

  1. Luanne says:

    I’m glad you are well. This time is so strange that it has disrupted many patterns. Follow your heart with it, Sally.

  2. Amy says:

    I’m late on reading your post, Sally. This is such an unsettling time. Thank you for your wise words and thought.

  3. The blues and purples go well together.

  4. Tina Schell says:

    So glad to see you return to the blog Sally, even if not weekly quite yet. Glad you’ve found important ways to use these bizarre times to further enrich your life and to share your work with us and with others. Loved your creation this week, the colors make it seem quite moody to me.

  5. Forestwood says:

    Good to hear you are doing okay, Sally. I had wondered what had happened to you. The new projects sound exciting.

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful as always Sally. Thank you for your words of wisdom and your update. It has sure been a rollercoaster ride of emotions. However, as you said, the silver lining is life itself and the planet is healing.

  7. I hope you are right, in that something good may come out of the present crises: A desire to keep the planet cleaner and less polluted as it has been lately. And your composite image is a tribute of out beautiful planet – if we only take care of it.

  8. Nice to know you are ok and busy. In this difficult and strange time being busy is of a great help. I hope this experience will teach people to pay more attention to the nature, to our planet, to the weakest…
    Love the colours in your image, a strong palette with a good balance of light and shadow…so much beauty
    Today I walked up and down on my terracce with the scent of my rosemary plants, it was nice 🙂

  9. Su Leslie says:

    It is a powerful image Sally. I’m glad to see this post; I have been wondering if you’re ok in your absence from WP. In these days it’s hard not to think the worst.

  10. restlessjo says:

    A lovely message of hope, Sally. Enjoy your garden and your creativity. Those are both things to celebrate. 🙂 🙂

    • Absolutely, although I did not need a health crisis to appreciate these passions. Maybe comfort comes in the connection that we have to everyone on the planet. And the aftermath that I am hopeful will bring much needed change in social justice and environmental justice and human rights.

  11. If I’d just waited a day, I would have seen you. 🙂 Happy that you’re here and that you’re well and keeping busy.

    janet

Leave a comment