Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Editing and Processing (The Complexity and Simplicity of the Walk)

29 September 2014

Lens:

I. PhotoStudio FX

2. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

1. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

3. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

4. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

3. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

II. Distressed FX

4. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

4. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

5. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

5. Steam Caging Station, iPhone 4s; Copyright © 2014 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved:Lens and Pens by Sally

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

The Complexity and Simplicity of the Walk  

The nature of walking,                                                                                                                          Has meditation as its storyline.

Atoms bombard,                                                                                                                                    Float in ecstasy.                                                                                                                Transforming as two appendages,                                                                                           Carrying us silently, in solitude and a place unto ourselves.

Private, reclusive,                                                                                                                  Restorative, revitalizing in cadence and rhythm.

Then recombines ideas, thoughts,                                                                                               and dreams and hopes.                                                                                                                Flow rivets performance,                                                                                                             And salutes the simple act of the walk.

I am a diehard devotee to the act of walking. It’s a daily ritual, which does not mean I succumb to its feats of nourishment at the same time every day. Rarely, do I ever miss its calling, its charms, its healing powers: day or night.

Humans have not always had the luxury and time to meander, or become lost in a field of clover or mountainous pass. The history of walking is a curious record of human activity and personal feats. What seems a natural act has been diverted by our own intervention: concrete cities, sprawling suburbs and shopping malls. The fields of plenty have become less and less. The meadow lands are altered.

Open space is a scarce commodity. So I’m particularly blessed to live in a state that honors land conservation and preservation.

Recently, I traveled a short distance to visit a part of the White Clay Creek, a body of water that runs through my small town. When I arrived, I become tranquilized by the warmth of the day and the notion of walking for hours–observing, photographing and thinking.

Each season has a specific palette that represents the characteristics of that time of year. As I walked I began to notice more and more signposts of autumn, and it brought an exhilarating tone to my ambling.

I stopped at a waterfall that spread itself across the horizon. Behind it the creek was lengthening and widening, giving it a glaze of expanse that pleased. I changed my direction and headed to the woods, where I discovered a small building that caught my attention for more than a glance. It’s hues and shape seemed to be a strange stage setting for the melodies of autumn. But it was a good image to serve as a foil for this week’s challenge. And the discovery demonstrated the power of the walk, it’s small and medium and mammoth gifts.

“Perhaps the truth depends on a walk around the lake.” ~Wallace Stevens

Tip of the Week: One of the apps that I used in this post is a new one for me: Distressed FX. I was drawn to it for its varied textures. It’s ease of use make it fun to explore the combinations of features. You can choose a soft patina or a more intense one.  The results can be lyrical or gentle or even exaggerated. The app also can give additional emphasis to color gradations. And, of course, the distressed look is its signature. You can find it in the Apple Store for 99 cents, and it’s well worth it. Click here. Have fun.

View other entries for this week’s challenge: Editing and Processing

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-photo-challenge-editing/

http://pilotfishblog.com/2014/09/29/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-photo-challenge-nature-at-the-smithsonian/

http://completelydisappear.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/an-eye/

http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/phoneography-my-take-on-the-iphone-6-plus/

http://decocraftsdigicrafts.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/phoneography-challenge-editing-fun/

http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/phoneography-challenge-in-the-key-of-waikiki/

http://austindetails.me/2014/09/30/fun-with-panoramas/

http://nwframeofmind.com/2014/09/29/iphoneography-monday-9-29-14/

http://19planets.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/wind-leaves-september-2014-haiga-for-phoneography-monday-editing-and-processing/

http://zimmerbitch.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/picturing-an-idyllic-future/

http://allkindsaeverything.wordpress.com/2014/10/01/phoneography-and-non-slr-challenge-editing-and-processing/

http://blogagaini.com/2014/10/01/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-photo-challenge-editing-and-processing/

Note:

If you’d like to join the Photo Challenge, please click here for details. If you have any questions, please contact me. Below is a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming Photo Challenges:

1st Monday: Nature.

2nd Monday: Macro.

3rd Monday: Black and White.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Portraiture, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

5th Monday: Editing and Processing with Various Apps Using Themes from the Fourth Week.

This entry was posted in Mobile Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Editing and Processing (The Complexity and Simplicity of the Walk)

  1. What a wonderful post. I have hipstamatic which I like. ‘ll try yours. Yes walking with nature is a beautiful thing.

  2. I love the texture of 5. It’s so renaissance!! ( or what!! :D) Your poem is a meaningful walk!!

  3. thirdeyemom says:

    I like the feeling and mood of the distressed shots the best. They are complicated and make you think.

  4. “Perhaps the truth depends on a walk around the lake.” What a great insight by Wallace Stevens.

    Since I got interested in the native plants of my region, the seasons for me have been measured out by those plants, and I’ve developed a sense of what to expect when. When I was growing up on Long Island, except for the changing of the leaves in the fall I didn’t have a botanical clock, but I’m glad to have one now.

  5. Lectures au Coeur says:

    Thank you Sally for your thoughtful text on the “simple act of the walk”. I read your text with the same pleasure I feel when I walk 🙂

  6. basiga says:

    I am partial to your PhotoStudio image 2. Maybe I am influenced by the fall weather. I really enjoy these photo edit challenges. Come take a look at my new edits.
    http://blogagaini.com/2014/10/01/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-photo-challenge-editing-and-processing/

  7. I like the best the number 1. The blue door just pops up in contrast to the background. It gives a vintage feel yet vivid enough to stir ones curiosity and imagination. Beautiful!

  8. restlessjo says:

    The images weren’t what I expected with the title, Sally, but that’s not a problem. I love finding something unexpected when I’m out walking. 🙂 I liked 1 and 5 best, purely based on colour.

  9. Tina Schell says:

    Agree wholeheartedly about the walk Sally, and prefer the first shot!

  10. You make the ordinary extraordinary, and remind us to see what we might pass by.

  11. aloha Sally. i have not used the Distressed FX App. you’ve made it look quite interesting to me. now that i’ve done some upgrading i may (or still may not of course) be able to use it on my iPad. i will give it a look tho.

    for some reason in my whirl through the 30 Days of Haiga i’ve been attracted to clear air days with bright light and blue sky—even tho my photos have not always reflected this. i suspect it is for this reason that i’m drawn to #1 above. i like the white vignette that fades out into the surrounding area. and the lightness of the image over all. with the weathered colors and textures/surfaces it also has an autumnal feel to it for me.

    to be clear i also like the others. and the display of effects is a lot of fun. which is what now has me chopping at the bit to see if i can use the App. thank you. . . .

    happy autumning. happy phonography monday too. aloha. rick

  12. Su Leslie says:

    I love these distressed shots; I think the colour palette is what appeals most. Here’s my (rather strident) contribution. http://zimmerbitch.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/picturing-an-idyllic-future/

  13. I enjoyed two great walks this weekend, Sally but didn’t find a door as interesting as your subject today. 🙂 I really like the range of colors you brought to this image through your editing choices and after looking back and forth think I’m settling on #2 and #4 as my favorites.

  14. I’m a fan of 1 and 3. I’m partial to the interesting shade of blue.

  15. Angeline M says:

    There is something about that first photo that draws my eye back to it again and again as I scroll through; I think it is the hue of blue that attracts me. I too am a walking enthusiast, it brings me so much peace to go out and observe this beautiful world.
    I’ve posted an entry for today’s challenge, it’s good to be back.

    Phoneography Challenge in the Key of Waikiki (updated post)

  16. I love them all. It is interesting to see the progression towards the end photo. That is the part that is so interesting. 😀

  17. Ok…I might be naive but what is a steam caging station?

  18. Steve says:

    Hi Sally – does this count as phoneography even although it was taken with a real camera…:)

    http://steve-says.net/2014/09/28/snap-zap-stand-by-me-2/

  19. vastlycurious.com says:

    Love your work! The mysterious #5 gets my vote!

  20. I like the progression in all of them but the colors in the first three are my favorites. I’m hoping to get back to walking again now that the temperature seems to be starting to drop below 90 (it’s still pretty humid). But now it’s raining every day! sigh! Oh, well, we needed the rain! I’ll probably be able to get back to walking outside about the time everyone else is snowed in! 😛 Have a great week!

  21. elisa ruland says:

    You and I share a passion for walking, Sally. I walk often, and by habit very fast…most people say I walk at a slow trot! You excel in finding the beauty in simple things. I like No. 4. The colors are beautiful.

  22. Amy says:

    I like these process results, Sally. Thank you so much for continuing encouraging us to use smart phone for photo and apps.

  23. Apps and Poems! A lovely way to start a week! The photos from the Distressed App are fascinating!
    Happy 5th Monday

  24. pattimoed says:

    I especially like image 4 with the distressed effect. It gives the shot a sense of mystery and a vintage feel. But, like Maria, I enjoyed the progression from the first shot to the last! Happy Monday. –Patti

  25. Pre-distress, I’ll go with #3 for its cold clarity (compliment intended). Post-distress: #4 is moody enough yet still resembles its origins. I’m a big fan of the FX apps, but can’t usually bring myself to distress an image once I’ve perfected it! This is one of my favorite topics among your many great challenges. Thanks for the inspiration, Sally, once again! Will be back soon.

  26. Sally, just back from my own walk and appreciating your thoughts about walking. Some days it’s so glorious I can barely stand it. I like the first photo the best–the space around it and the colors. Wow, I made a definitive choice! Mark this day on your calender. 🙂

    Happy photographing,

    janet

  27. Maria F. says:

    I think they look best in a sequence, to appreciate their transition well.

Leave a comment