WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Down

20 February 2012

Lens:

Illusion, February 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Pens:

I continue to feel as though I am in a perpetual state of floating, similar to the photograph that I took on Friday. As I compose this post, I know that my free fall is happening–the slow descend to feet planted firmly on the ground, leveled by the “gravity” of reality. After the photo shoot I found that one of my posts (“Longwood Gardens Photo Shoot, Part Two: Orchid Extravaganza”) was selected for Freshly Pressed, which appears on WordPress’ Homepage. Serendipitously, this photograph that I shot for the weekly challenge exemplifies my emotions over the last few days.

I must say that it is a glorious ride, and one whose exhilaration is the gift that keeps on giving. Mostly, the photo challenge gives me the opportunity to THANK my new Followers, and those who visited my blog over the weekend and today. I am grateful and truly humbled. I am amazed at the power of “Freshly Pressed” to bring so many wonderful people onto my site. As I told those who commented, I am appreciative. To everyone who “Liked” the post, each one brought me a cheerful smile. The experience is really beyond reasonable excitement. THANKS, THANKS, THANKS.

So now I must slowly cruise down toward a normal existence, and continue to bring my personal vision to Lens and Pens by Sally. Thanks for joining me.

Note: As always I welcome comments about any part of this post or blog. During this dramatic journey (which is still happening) as the “Freshly Pressed,” my curiosity was peaked: How did I get selected? There really is no clear answer, but I searched for a clue or two. If you’re interested, see the post by WordPress that outlines some criteria: http://en.support.wordpress.com/five-ways-to-get-featured-on-freshly-pressed/

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Down

  1. Leslie says:

    Looks like she is flying in the air! Stuntgirl! What a great shot!

  2. You did an excellent job of creating the illusion of falling. Even though I know it’s an illusion, every time I look back at the picture I still see a person falling.

    I wanted to say congratulations on your Freshly Pressed on the day it happened, but I figured you had your hands full then and it was better to wait till things calmed down. I was surprised to have that experience when my nature photo blog wasn’t even two months old, so I have an idea how hectic it is. Happy return to a semblance of normality.

    Steve
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • First, thanks for your thoughts on my photograph, “Illusion,” which truly achieved my intention. Secondly, the “Freshly-Pressed” experience was, as you indicated, a ride on the high side. It lasted for three days of responses to those who viewed my post and blog. It does take an adjustment to re-enter one’s normal existence. Mostly, it enforces the power of the FP page to introduce WP’s readers to other sites. If it were not for FR, I may not have found you. Your blog is one of my favorites. I am, especially, happy to follow your journey, because your mission is worthy–the documentation of (mostly native) wildflowers. Thanks again for your lovely comment, Sally

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    I was also wondering how you took the photo so thanks for the interesting explanation.

    A few months ago, I was Freshly Pressed, to my great surprise. The best part is that I discovered some wonderful bloggers that I now follow and enjoy very much.

  4. najwa says:

    i think that u r a skilled person who knows what he wants and loves so much taking expressive photos ……………………………………….

  5. iltana says:

    Very creative image!

  6. Val says:

    That’s a very striking photo – I’m trying to work out how you did it! 🙂

    I came here via Freshly Pressed, which is unusual as I rarely look at it. But I’m looking at some of your other posts too. I like what I see. 🙂

    • That’s very kind, and I appreciate your browsing my blog, Sally

    • I just realized that you were curious about how I shot the image. My granddaughter was my subject. I wanted to get her in motion and show a free-fall movement. She’s a skilled athlete. I was standing above her on a porch, and the afternoon lighting was just right behind her to cast the shadow that I wanted. Took several and this one was my favorite. I also rotated it to make the brick walkway seem like its a wall. Val, I hope that explains the process. It worked for me, Sally

Leave a Reply

