Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: Macro (Cracks in the Cosmic Egg)

14 October 2013

Lens:

1. Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

1. Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Cracks in Cosmic Eggs, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

2. Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

3. Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

4. Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

4. Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

5.Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

5. Cracks in the Cosmic Egg, iPhone 4s, October 2103; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2013

Let me know which you prefer and why.

Pens:

If you’d like to join the fun, please click here for details. If you have any questions about the Phoneography Challenge, please contact me.

Since I discovered the Ameraucana egg, I’ve been wanting to capture its unusual coloration. A few weeks ago at our Sunday farmer’s market, I bought a dozen produced by this breed of chicken, whose egg color varies from white to green to brown. They are thought to have been introduced in this country, and are a mixture of  the American and Araucana breeds.

It’s not only that I fell completely in like with the hues, but yolks are large and velvety in flavor. They also are ready-made Easter eggs. No dyeing needed, just decorate.

Ameraucana Chicken and Eggs, Google Images

Ameraucana Chicken and Eggs, Google Images

As I set up the photo shoot, the long-held notion of the crack in the cosmic egg began to swirl through my thoughts. Many cultures and myths refer to the egg shape as an analogy for the birth of the universe: or a beginning point for just about anything.

The egg shape has a permanent place in history and science: a metaphor for the Big Bang Theory and Einstein’s Theory of General Relativity as well as other observations about the expansion of the greater cosmos beyond our own solar system.

The cosmic egg fills ideas and philosophies of great thinkers (such as Carl Jung, Paul Tillich, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, Carlos Castaneda…), but it also is found embedded in the arts (literary and visual) as a symbol of birth and rebirth.

And while this thought process may seem a bit cerebral, it was pushed even further with the recollection of an article from the New York Times that appeared last Spring (“Universe as an Infant: Fatter Than Expected and Kind of Lumpy,” by Dennis Overbye, 21 March 2013), which displays a heat map of the cosmos at 380,000 years old and post-Big Bang. And, yes, there it is–the egg shape. Click here to read the full article.

Mapping the Early Universe, New York Times

Mapping the Early Universe, New York Times

It astounds me that the human mind could have so long ago surmised such an association that proved to have such sticking power. And now the comparison is even more secure, I find it profoundly stirring in a good way.

Just when I am ambivalent about the state of our world, I am encouraged by “our” ability to connect the dots–a process that we can do brilliantly. It’s inspirational.

I’ll never again be able to crack an egg without life’s big questions circling through my thoughts: about the beginning of it all, about the expansion of it all, about the possible retraction of it all, about our planet as a place for dynamic experimentation, and humanity’s place in the greater cosmos where cracking an egg has much more meaning.

Tip of the Week: I’d like to introduce you to the Mobile Photo Network (MPN), which is “dedicated to quality mobile photography (click here to view their site).” MPN features  photographs, cultures and communities that are created through the use of connected mobile devices. This resource is a collaboration between award-winning mobile photographers Misho Baranovic and Oliver Lang, who create and curate online exhibitions, and include on their site other valuable information for photographers. If you would like to be a feature photographer at MPN, e-mail them at mobilephotonetwork@gmail.com or fill out the online form here.

View other entries:

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/phoneography-challenge-youre-bugging-me-macro/

http://weliveinaflat.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/close-up-photos-of-drinks/comment-page-1/

http://thepalladiantraveler.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-challenge-macro-3/

http://completelydisappear.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/red-parrot/

http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-challenge-macro-3/

http://streetsofsfphotos.com/2013/10/14/microscopic-cell-or-flower/

http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2013/10/12/daily-post-beware-of-strange-ghoulies-goblins-and-ghosties/

http://nwframeofmind.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-monday-macro-10-14-13/

http://watchingthephotoreels.com/2013/10/14/macro-phoneography-challenge/

http://vastlycurious.com/2013/10/15/phoneography-challenge-the-phone-as-your-lens-2013/

http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-challenge-the-phone-as-your-lens-macro-water/

http://blogagaini.com/2013/10/15/phoneography-monday-challenge-macro/

Note: As always I welcome any comment about this post or any part of my blog. Here’s a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming Phoneography Challenges:      

1st Monday: Nature

2nd Monday: Macro

3rd Monday: Black-and-White

4th and 5th Mondays: Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Portraiture, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Macro Photography, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: Macro (Cracks in the Cosmic Egg)

  1. No. 3 strikes me as snail-like.

  2. HansHB says:

    Lovely and very creative! Great work!

  3. I like the first one. I think it is the juxtaposition of the egg that is in focus and the background that is not that I like.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Awesome series. I won’t be able to look at an egg the same way as I have been, ever again.

  5. Cosmic eggs…brilliant and out of this world cool!

  6. EricaK says:

    I love #2 – something about the subtle coloration makes it, to me, the best match with the cosmic element in the title. The glow enhances the other-worldliness of it.

  7. I love the cosmic eggs! Thank you for sharing the egg’s meaning in our and other cultures. I’ve always loved cracking an egg for some reason and I love how you’ve photographed these 🙂 wonderful post!

  8. My sweet friend, I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Please visit this link: transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/15/the-versatile-blogger-award-6/

  9. Love this Sally. It looks like the egg from the beginning of Mork & Mindy. Am I dating myself 🙂

  10. Amar Naik says:

    this photos are amazing. WOW. my favorite is first two as they show me examples of cracks which lead to new life :). here is my entry

    here is my entry. i tried to focus on water trying to ensure my iPhone does not get wet

    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-challenge-the-phone-as-your-lens-macro-water/

  11. marialla says:

    What a gas of an idea!!! I like them all but most of all Number 2 – it just feels like it is truly that cosmic egg cracking event. Thank you so much for the concept, the humour and the great shot of a truly miraculous cosmic event. Mari

  12. ~meredith says:

    The third photo seems to explode life into action. I love that, and the value of seeing the inner shell. The empty egg becomes an expression with its own beauty.

  13. #5: It looks and feels so otherworldly. Love the texture and the tonal range….

  14. Great ideas today Sally accompanied by some very lovely photos and eggs! Thanks for the link to MPN, I will check them out today. My Macro photo can be found here: http://nwframeofmind.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-monday-macro-10-14-13/

  15. What a cool idea! I love the top two-especially the green one-terrific Sally!

  16. Angeline M says:

    I so look forward to your Monday works, great photos; and, as always, wonderful tips and links for us. Thanks.
    Here is my post for the challenge today http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-challenge-macro-3/

  17. I liked #2 because of its surreal, other-worldly qualities. It looked like a space catastrophe!

  18. Looks more like a crack in the moon than an egg. Nicely done. I’ll have to give a bit more of a thumbs-up to the green-coated egg just because it’s green. Never saw an egg that color before. Oh, here’s my stab at Macro Monday: A Phoneographic Genuflect — http://thepalladiantraveler.com/2013/10/14/phoneography-challenge-macro-3/

  19. I like the green egg. I almost brought a hen home from the fair because her eggs were bright blue. Fun challenge.

  20. munchow says:

    A fantastic idea – and so well executed! It’s hard to pick a favourite, but I think it must be the last real close-up of a crack. But they all makes your mind fly in all kinds of directions. Very nice!

  21. Lignum Draco says:

    For some reason, your photos remind me of the opening scene of “Mork and Mindy”. Nanoo nanoo. 🙂

  22. The cosmic eggs are really cool! I love the batch! The last one with the texture and the close up look at the thickness of the shell was interesting given the context. Love the rest nestled against that speckly surface that forms the galaxy. Really cool.

  23. Eggs from the market are so different from supermarket eggs, aren’t they? When I was young, my grandparents still live on the farm and had Banty chickens. Their eggs were small but brown and warm-looking. Later, I found eggs that were green and other hues and realized how beautiful the outsides of eggs can be. And the taste? Wonderful!

    janet

  24. wisejourney says:

    I like the first one…its the one I feel I could write a poem about 🙂

  25. Sally, as soon as I saw the green eggs…I ooh and awed….very cool! I felt like they came from another planet☺

Leave a comment