Red Cabbage: Abstracts for a Wintery Monday

23 January 2012

Lens:

Red Cabbage I

Red Cabbage I; January 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Red Cabbage II, January 2012;

Red Cabbage II, January 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Red Cabbage III; January 2012;

Red Cabbage III; January 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Red Cabbage IV; January 2012;

Red Cabbage IV; January 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Red Cabbage V, January 2012

Red Cabbage V, January 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Red Cabbage VI; January 2012;

Red Cabbage VI; January 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Note: Let me know which image is your favorite.

Pens:

We had our first snowfall this weekend; it was an icy hint of what is yet to descend on the Mid Atlantic. With slippery roads and sidewalks, it was perfect weather for inside shooting. On Sunday as I piled slices of red cabbage on my midday meal, I made a mental note to take a “fashion shoot” of this lacy vegetable at night. Above is the result of this remarkably suitable vegetable for an abstract series. (On 26 August 2011 I posted an abstract image of green cabbage. To see it go to the post titled “Monochromatic Photography: Contrast in Seeing?”).

Health Notes: Cabbage’s etymology derives from the French word caboche. Whether green, red or savoy it is a whole food that provides enormous and, sometimes, even subtle flavor to salads, soups, stews, stir-fry, and many other dishes. It’s a cruciferous (e.g., Brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower and kale) vegetable, which adds color to a recipe or last-minute meal. But it also has known health benefits that are touted in the media.

Faithfully, I eat green or red every day, and think that I might try growing them in my garden during the upcoming planting season. Good luck to me.

End Note: As always I welcome any comment about any part of this blog or post.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Red Cabbage: Abstracts for a Wintery Monday

  1. I love the red cabbage pictures especially, but all of them are beautiful! A pleasure:D

  2. I doubt that the phrases “fashion shoot” and “red cabbage” have ever been linked before. By the way, the Old Norman French caboche may have come from Latin caput, which meant ‘head.’

    • You probably are correct, but I stand by my comment. The cabbage does not need help from me for its popularity. Still, if you slice it just right, it has a certain flare for the lens. Yes, the French word for cabbage also means “head.” Thanks, Sally

  3. Gracie says:

    Pretty cool, Sally! I like the back lighting. My favorite is the last image 🙂

Leave a Reply

