WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting Moment

30 June 2012

Lens:

1. Street Shadows: A Portrait of Siblings, Nikon DSLR, June 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Street Shadows: a Portrait of Siblings, Nikon DSLR, June 2012; © Sally W. Donatello and Lens and Pens by Sally, 2012

Let me know which photograph is your favorite.

Pens:

Two days after my return from Northern California I saw WordPress’ Weekly Challenge: Fleeting Moment, it seemed apt for my first post-vacation post. Because I just returned from an accumulation of thousands of fleeting moments that are circulating non-stop through my thoughts, I wanted to pick a universal memory. What could be more fleeting than shadows, dependent on the sun’s folly with the light cast in just the right pathway.

After sifting through my photographs I found the ones that I took at St. Mary’s Square in San Francisco. The sun blazed with cooperation, and a huge statue of Sun Yat Sen watched in approval.

The two photographs in the Lens section are my grandchildren jubilant to be in one of the most culturally-rich cities of the world. It was our first day. Chinatown was to the left. Our hearts were pumping with excitement, not knowing what we would discover next.

They made a shadowy portrait that will always remind us of our initial response to a city of golden opportunities in the golden state. These revelatory images are symbolic of their camaraderie during our vacation together. It was the “sweet spot,” even as we ignored the time difference, because we were ready for the fleeting moments to come.

Fleeting moments remind me of the fragility of life where an internal or external switch occurs, loosing and gaining small incremental happenings or sweeping changes and everything in between them. Even though our memories can hold those moments, still photographs and video can freeze time. We can return to that memory with more accuracy and glow with images such as those above.

Please get ready for the visual story of a city that never stops giving, because San Francisco gives and gives and gives. We were overflowing with its loving ways. My first post devoted to that western city will be next week.

Note: I welcome any comment about this post or any part of this blog.

This entry was posted in Human Nature, Photography, Traveling and Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting Moment

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting Moment – WordPress.com logo | Scion Players

  2. munchow says:

    I think the two pictures together tells the most interesting story, for me a story about hope and friendship. The first picture becomes a question and the last one an answer – one of many. I love the way you play with the shadows – great work.

  3. I like the second one as it reflects togetherness.

  4. Geoffrey says:

    I love the first. The space between speaks of possibility – of potential … are they reaching toward or pulling away? Friends or strangers?
    Great to see you back Sally 🙂

  5. Amy says:

    Photos capture the moment allowing us to go back again and again. Looking forward to more beautiful pictures from your lens. Hope “next week” is coming soon.

  6. Fantastic portrait….looking forward to other pictures from your adventures!

Leave a Reply

