Phoneography and Non-SRL Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Black and White (and the Afternoon Light)

16 February 2015

Lens:

Part One: Afternoon Light in the Parking Garage

1. Afternoon Light in Parking Garage; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

1. Afternoon Light in Parking Garage; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Afternoon Light in Parking Garage; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

2. Afternoon Light in Parking Garage; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

II. Through the Looking Glass

3. Through the Looking Glass; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

3. Through the Looking Glass; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

4. Through the Looking Glass; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

4. Through the Looking Glass; Copyright © 2015 Sally W. Donatello All Rights Reserved/Lens and Pens by Sally

Let me know which you prefer and why. Click each image to enlarge.

Pens:

I fancy myself a skywatcher: mostly clouds and light. Of the two light is my most constant muse. I follow it as though it’s food for my soul. Sunset and twilight are deliciously enticing. But I found myself this week courting early afternoon beams.

The rays of sun flowed into the day with such vengeance that I was forced to find its landing. The dark became exaggerated with contrasts and tones widely visible inside and out. Silence gave me the chance to focus on my pledge: find a place to see, really see, the profusion that I suspected.

American photographer Robert Frank said it with such heart that it’s hard to top these sentiments.

“I’m always looking outside, trying to look inside. Trying to say something that’s true. But maybe nothing is really true. But what’s out there. And what’s out there is always changing.” ~~  from Robert Frank, Moving Out (1994).

Photography gives us the opportunity to fulfill more than the creative act. It allows us to discover the gifts of the everyday. To me some of that learning comes in watching the street: the day-to-day that keeps replicating and yet is evergreen.

I am continually fascinated by street life, passing the same corner or restaurant that is the same and yet different. So much in our pathway is overlooked, is vanished by distractions or concentration on this or that. So as an epiphany rises to seize my attention, I am embraced by a world that seems new. It’s a staggering sensation.

In the Lens section is such an experience. The walk through the parking garage is something that I do occasionally, just for the way the light infuses the space. It’s located on the edge of the main action of my small town’s university campus and Main Street.

While time can conceal an expanse of radiance, this afternoon offered me space to gaze upon what was hidden to so many, at least in this particular spot. Windows lined the lower floor where I wondered to freeze the incoming light.

Part One and Two each have two images that were taken with just slightly different angles. I found each held me captive by the brilliance of the afternoon light. Each pays tribute to the light that continuously casts a spell upon me.

Tip of the Week:

…street photography does not necessarily mean photographing in the streets. For one thing, the street is not always where the heart of the culture lies. More than anything else, I think street photography suggest a photographer’s particular stance or attitude towards the world: a kind of open-ended exploration with an emphasis on discovery, a sense of wandering that’s driven by curiosity rather than an idea or goal.” Alex Webb, photographer and author on many books about photography

"Istanbul," Alex Webb

“Istanbul,” Alex Webb

Read more about Webb’s street photography here. His work focuses on a particular vision of multiple cultures through street life.

View other entries for this week’s challenge:

http://luciledegodoy.com/2015/02/16/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-6/

http://eclecticoddsnsods.com/2015/02/16/writing-201-water/

https://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-black-and-white-airport-au-natural/

https://chasinglifeandfindingdreams.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/memories-of-mom/

https://theyyouandme.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/walls/

https://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/phoneography-how-black-and-white-saves-the-day/

https://decocraftsdigicrafts.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/phoneography-black-and-white-at-ahuriri/

https://angelinem.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/phoneography-challenge-in-black-and-whitea-tray-of-miracles/

https://nelkumi.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/i/

https://artisticlicenseoflife.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-black-white/

https://mamamaitri.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge/

http://helpalongthepath.com/2015/02/16/snow-day-phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge/

http://nwframeofmind.com/2015/02/16/iphoneography-monday-a-black-and-white-dragon/

https://forestwoodfolkart.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/phoneography-and-non-srl-digital-devices-photo-challenge-black-and-white/

https://amaltaas.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/phoneography-and-non-srl-digital-devices-photo-challenge-black-and-white/

https://claresphotospace.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/mannequin-mondays/

https://allkindsaeverything.wordpress.com/2015/02/18/phoneography-and-non-slr-challenge-black-and-white-7/

https://manylikeit.wordpress.com/2015/02/21/black-white-encroaching-mist/

Note:

As always I welcome comments about this post or any part of my blog.

If you’d like to join the Photo Challenge, please click here for details. If you have any questions, please contact me. Below is a reminder of the monthly schedule with themes for upcoming Photo Challenges:

1st Monday: Nature.

2nd Monday: Macro.

3rd Monday: Black and White.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Portraiture, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel).

5th Monday: Editing and Processing with Various Apps Using Themes from the Fourth Week.

This entry was posted in Black-and-White Photography, Mobile Photography, Photography, Street Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Phoneography and Non-SRL Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Black and White (and the Afternoon Light)

  1. Sally, I’ve nominated you to participate in the 5-Day Black and White Photo Challenge which, so far as I can tell, consists of posting a B&W photo each day for five days and nominating one person each day to participate. I completely understand if you don’t choose to participate, but you’ve been nominated. 🙂 Stay warm and safe today and enjoy the weekend.

    janet

    • Janet, I appreciate the nomination. I’m going to give it some thought today, and let you know. The weather is insanely cold. Our temps today with windchill are -19. Ugh–great day to read, sip tea, contemplate, and even do some inside shooting. Bundle up.

  2. Jane Lurie says:

    Love the light and graphic angles in the parking garage shots. Excellent light seeking, Sally.

  3. Tina Schell says:

    Good eye on that first shot Sally – most people would have walked right by without a second thought. Very nice.

  4. Aquileana says:

    Awesome shots! ⭐ All the best to you. Aquileana 🙂

  5. I love the first photo with the sharp angles of light and shadow.

  6. Virginia Duran says:

    Love the dramatic effect of the light, good job! Now following Alex Webb’s site, thanks for sharing!

  7. Such fascinating differences in your shots, Sally. I’m going with #2 and 4. 🙂

  8. lensclare says:

    I love the drama of the low light in these images. They remind me of artistic B&W Darkroom prints.

  9. Sally, I have been looking at them several times and trying to make choices. Here it goes:
    From the gut: I was drawn immediately to 1 and 4, and know that is why the close framing of the image might create a feeling of security; something I can see and recognize faster. There is higher contrast and I love that too.
    When recognizing that and looking at it again with neutral eyes, then I see more, and like 2 and 3 too. In fact I realize that my perception betrays me, as they are much more open and safe images.
    As always, you brings us words and images that last in our minds.
    Thanks.

  10. Indira says:

    Black and white always have dramatic effect. Nice photographs. Thanks for the tips but with my Nokia 2700 old model I don’t have much choice.https://amaltaas.wordpress.com

  11. Hi Sally, You are always challenging me to see things differently, to look through the lens differently. It is always a pleasure to participate each week and see your interpretation of the theme. A humble parking garage becomes poetic!! I love it. I think I am leaning towards the second shot in both sections and I can’t really explain that: just an intuitive feeling. Here am I:

    Phoneography and Non-SRL Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Black and White (and the Afternoon Light)

  12. Natures light is always so beautiful and you’ve captured these moods perfectly. Today my favorite is #1. 🙂

  13. Julia Manuel says:

    The first one captures me most. I love the drama.

  14. nelkumi says:

    Hi, I like #2 and #4… I mixed your photo challenge with the daily prompt. I hope it’s okay…

    I…

  15. dsaquarelles says:

    I prefer 1 et 2 for the rythm between the light and dark is very graphic.

  16. elisa ruland says:

    I like the first shot, Sally, but all four convey a sense of mystery, the result of your mastering the play of light.

  17. All are great, Sally. I’d say 1 and 3 are my picks — just because! 🙂

  18. Angeline M says:

    I really think I like the second one best for it’s little peep leading our eyes to the outside. Light has begun to fascinate me no end in the last several months as I continue to explore more and more of photography. I see shadows and light where before I may not have. Thanks again for some great tips.

    Phoneography Challenge in Black and White~A Tray of Miracles

  19. I love the lines in the first image. Very dramatic and abstract. I’m like you – I am always looking at the way light plays around me.

  20. I discovered the wonders of shooting from a parking garage just last week, (see my 5 day challenge) . I may go back for more. I keep coming back to. 3 and 4. It’s 3 for me it looks like a place I’ve been and will be again.
    Also I would like to quote you. Your paragraph after the Robert Frank quote really sums up why we are photographers. I want to move my students beyond just learning to “use their camera phone” and this quote from you would be helpful. Thanks.
    Happy Monday Challenge
    Carol

  21. When I click on your link, I get a post from may 2013.

  22. Nato says:

    I really like 1 and 3 the best. They both draw me in. Love the lines and mood the lights create!

  23. mira65 says:

    I LOVE THE FIRST ONE. I WAIT FOR YOUR CHALLENGES. HERE IS MINE…

    Walls.

  24. Maria F. says:

    All of them great Sally, I like your B&W’s very much.

  25. Tish Farrell says:

    These are all striking, each in their own way. If I had to choose, I prefer 1 rather than 2; I like the way the composition draws you in to the light in far doorway. And 4 rather than 3. The three figures are bolder, yet they are still ambiguous – as if 2 dimensional. Very intriguing. But then actually a like no 3 as well 🙂

  26. The first two are seriously striking, love this.

  27. DG MARYOGA says:

    All of them are interesting dear Sally ; I so much like the first one, looks gorgeous with incredible perspective and beautiful light when enlarged ~ As for the other set, I found the last one rather too dark, I think the last but one shows every little detail. Have a wonderful day! Doda 🙂 xxx

  28. Sally, I like the first two, but I’m torn between the stark contrasts in the first photo and the feeling of being led outside to more light in the second. I’ll have to leave it there. Thanks for hosting (hostessing?) the challenge and for setting the standards so high.

    janet

Leave a comment